Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vitravene: how was the first human dose set?

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vitravene don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6 (FDA review, p. 24)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6
“Group 2 (115 ug of fomivirsen + triamcinolone) or in control animals had no ocular alterations. A transient decrease in IOP was identified in 3/6 Group 2 animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 24Source ↗

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Applicant estimated safe starting dose from nonclinical results; method not specified

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
Starting-dose rationale not stated; FDA capped clinical IT dose at 25 mg (~1/10 mouse/monkey NOAEL), later 50 mg Q12W

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Defitelio

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Not stated in public reviews

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Not stated in public reviews

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
Not stated in public reviews

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
Not stated in public reviews

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Not stated in public reviews

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Not stated in public reviews

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 28 oligonucleotides →