Request an invite
Atlas/Example answers

What Ask Atlas answers look like

Ten real questions, answered the way Ask Atlas answers: a short answer with real counts, then the regulator's own sentences with the page they're on. These examples are assembled only from Atlas's verified quotes. Ask Atlas does the same for your exact question.

Request an invite Try the evidence preview

Bispecific antibodies · Species

Which animal species did regulators accept for approved bispecifics?

13 of 18 approved bispecifics ran pivotal tox in: monkey only.
Monkey only13/18
Monkey + rodent2/18
No relevant species3/18
The evidence · 3 of 54 regulator sentences
  1. KimmtrakBispecifics · CD3 x gp100 (TCR fusion) · Species
    No relevant species; in vitro human cell/tissue assays only
    “There are no pharmacologically relevant animal species to evaluate tebentafusp toxicity.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 30Source ↗
  2. KorjunyBispecifics · EpCAM x CD3 · Species
    No relevant species; limited single-dose mouse, rat, one cynomolgus; BiLu mouse surrogate
    “None of the animal species analysed is suitable for assessing the safety of catumaxomab.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
  3. LunsumioBispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · Species
    Cynomolgus monkey only
    “Cynomolgus monkey was selected as the appropriate animal species for assessing the nonclinical safety, pharmacokinetic (PK), and pharmacodynamic (PD) properties of mosunetuzumab and 2H7v16/40G5c.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Bispecific antibodies · First dose

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved bispecifics?

3 of 18 public reviews say how the first human dose was set.
Stated3/18
Not stated publicly15/18
The evidence · 3 of 21 regulator sentences
  1. LunsumioBispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · First-in-human starting dose
    MABEL-type: EC20 from in vitro human PBMC cytokine release / T-cell activation assay
    “The results (EC20 values) were used to inform the starting dose in the first in human study.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 60Source ↗
  2. ColumviBispecifics · CD20 x CD3 · First-in-human starting dose
    MABEL: monkey PK/PD IL-6 excursion model plus in vitro human/monkey whole-blood cytokine data; 5 ug flat dose
    “A pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic (PK/PD) model for cytokine excursions in cynomolgus monkeys, particularly interleukin 6 (IL-6), was built and translated to humans. The human starting dose was selected to keep the predicted IL-6 excursion below a predefined…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 50Source ↗
  3. RybrevantBispecifics · EGFR x MET · NOAEL / key findings
    NOAEL 120 mg/kg/wk (highest dose; >=5.3x human AUC); minimal liver, kidney, stomach findings
    “The no-observed-adverse-effect level (NOAEL) in the toxicology studies was 120 mg/kg/week (highest tested dose) for the 6-week and 3-month toxicity GLP studies.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 57Source ↗
Antibody-drug conjugates · First dose

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved ADCs?

2 of 14 public reviews say how the first human dose was set; 2 more say it partly.
Stated2/14
Partly stated2/14
Not stated publicly10/14
The evidence · 3 of 18 regulator sentences
  1. ZynlontaADCs · CD19 · First-in-human starting dose
    1/6 HNSTD in cynomolgus monkey cited as rationale for species choice; actual FIH calculation not detailed
    “The cynomolgus monkey was selected as nonclinical species for safety evaluation of loncastuximab tesirine, given the greater predictive value of PK data generated in this species for humans, potential for reduced impact of antidrug antibody (ADA) formation…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 49Source ↗
  2. KadcylaADCs · HER2 · First-in-human starting dose
    HNSTD-based: monkey HNSTD 10 mg/kg (q3w x4), below 1/10 rat severely toxic dose, used to set Phase I start
    “the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys was 10 mg/kg for four injections every 3 weeks which was below the no observable adverse effect level in that species and below one-tenth of the severely toxic dose in rats, this information…”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
  3. EnhertuADCs · HER2 · First-in-human starting dose
    1/12 HED of monkey HNSTD (0.8 mg/kg), also matching minimum effective trough concentration
    “The FIH dose of 0.8 mg/kg was selected based on one-twelfth of the human equivalent dose of the highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) in cynomolgus monkeys in toxicology studies and was also estimated to provide trough concentration in humans comparable to…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 80Source ↗
Antibody-drug conjugates · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved ADCs skip?

14 of 14 skipped carcinogenicity; 6 of 14 skipped dedicated reproductive tox.
No genotoxicity studies0/14
No carcinogenicity study14/14
No dedicated repro tox6/14
The evidence · 3 of 56 regulator sentences
  1. AdcetrisADCs · CD30 · Genotoxicity
    Conducted on MMAE: Ames and mouse lymphoma negative; rat micronucleus positive (aneugenic)
    “MMAE was genotoxic in the rat bone marrow micronucleus study through an aneugenic mechanism.”
    ✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
  2. BesponsaADCs · CD22 · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: calicheamicin positive in Ames and in vitro micronucleus; ADC clastogenic in mouse micronucleus
    “Inotuzumab ozogamicin was clastogenic in mice at doses ≥28 µg/kg (approximately 1.1 mg/m2 of the ADC), consistent with the known DNA-reactive activity of the calicheamicin payload.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
  3. DatrowayADCs · Trop-2 · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted with ADC; DXd Ames negative, clastogenic in vitro chromosome aberration and in vivo rat micronucleus
    “In genetic toxicology studies, deruxtecan was not mutagenic in an Ames assay but demonstrated clastogenic potential in an in vitro Chinese hamster lung chromosome aberration assay and an in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assay.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 47Source ↗
Oligonucleotides · Study length

How long were the pivotal tox studies for approved oligonucleotides?

Median longest pivotal study: 39 weeks (range 36–53).
Over 26 weeks24/24
The evidence · 3 of 72 regulator sentences
  1. MacugenOligos · VEGF-165 (aptamer) · Longest pivotal study
    39 weeks
    “Pivotal long term-studies in up to 9 months with intravitreous injections every 2 weeks did not cause any apparent toxic effects and there was no evidence of increased intra-ocular inflammation during the course of the studies.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
  2. AmvuttraOligos · TTR (siRNA) · Longest pivotal study
    40 weeks
    “In the pivotal general toxicology studies of SC vutrisiran in rat (13- and 26-week) and cynomolgus monkey (13- and 40-week), non-adverse findings were observed in the liver (both species), kidneys (rat), and lymph nodes (monkey).”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗
  3. Exondys 51Oligos · DMD exon 51 (PMO) · Pivotal GLP studies
    39-week IV male monkey; 10-week IV juvenile rat (PND14-77); 26-week IV mdx mouse with surrogate AVI-4225
    “Pivotal toxicology studies of eteplirsen were conducted in male monkeys (39-week study) and juvenile male rats (10-week study). A 26-week study was conducted with a mouse-specific surrogate (AVI-4225) in male transgenic mdx mice.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗
Oligonucleotides · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved oligonucleotides skip?

14 of 24 skipped carcinogenicity; 3 of 24 skipped dedicated reproductive tox.
No genotoxicity studies0/24
No carcinogenicity study14/24
No dedicated repro tox3/24
The evidence · 3 of 96 regulator sentences
  1. Amondys 45Oligos · DMD exon 45 (PMO) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted; negative (Ames, CHO chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
    “Casimersen was tested in a standard battery of in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in CHO cells) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) genetic toxicology assays. The studies were adequately conducted and negative.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
  2. AmvuttraOligos · TTR (siRNA) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: Ames, human lymphocyte chromosome aberration, rat micronucleus; all negative
    “A standard battery of genetic toxicology assays was conducted for vutrisiran (in vitro bacterial mutagenicity, in vitro chromosomal aberration in human peripheral blood lymphocytes, and in vivo rat (bone marrow) micronucleus assay. All assays were adequate…”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
  3. DawnzeraOligos · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO) · Genotoxicity
    Conducted: in vitro Ames, CHL chromosomal aberration and in vivo mouse bone marrow micronucleus; no genotoxicity
    “Donidalorsen was evaluated for genotoxicity potential both in vitro and in vivo.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Gene therapy · Risks

Which risks did regulators probe for approved gene therapies?

What reviewers probed for each of the 26 approved gene therapies.
The evidence · 3 of 74 regulator sentences
  1. RoctavianGene therapy · Factor VIII · Modality-specific risk
    Vector integration/insertional mutagenesis (CRL request; BMN307 mouse liver tumors), anti-transgene immunity, germline transmission
    “The CRL also included a recommendation for the applicant to provide additional data to address the risks of vector integration and insertional mutagenesis.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
  2. ElevidysGene therapy · Micro-dystrophin · Immune & cytokine safety
    Anti-AAV antibodies in mice; NHP: capsid/transgene T-cell responses, liver enzymes, anaphylaxis on redosing with rituximab/sirolimus
    “increased antibody titers against AAVrh74 vector capsid from Weeks 5 to 12, increased cellular immune response against AAVrh74 vector capsid and micro-dystrophin at Week 2 compared to baseline”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 30Source ↗
  3. FayuviGene therapy · SGSH (AAV9) · Immune & cytokine safety
    Immunogenicity greater against AAV9 capsid than hSGSH transgene, proportional to dose
    “Vector immunogenicity was greater against the AAV9 capsid versus the hSGSH transgene and was proportional to vector dose level.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 11Source ↗
Gene therapy · Skipped studies

Which nonclinical studies did approved gene therapies skip?

26 of 26 skipped carcinogenicity; 21 of 26 skipped genotoxicity.
No genotoxicity studies21/26
No carcinogenicity study26/26
No dedicated repro tox20/26
The evidence · 3 of 100 regulator sentences
  1. KebilidiGene therapy · AADC · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted (agreed with CHMP; low integration risk in post-mitotic neurons)
    “It was previously agreed with CHMP that genotoxicity, carcinogenicity and evaluation of insertional mutagenesis studies were not required (EMEA/CHMP/SAWP/236092/2018).”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 41Source ↗
  2. LyfgeniaGene therapy · HBB T87Q (LVV, ex vivo HSC) · Genotoxicity
    Insertional mutagenesis assessed: in vitro immortalization (IVIM) assay and integration site analyses; low risk
    “Per the applicant, based on these data, the risk of insertional mutagenesis following BB305 transduction is low.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
  3. OtarmeniGene therapy · OTOF (AAV, intracochlear) · Genotoxicity
    Not conducted (low AAV insertional mutagenesis risk; limited distribution beyond inner ear)
    “No genotoxicity studies have been conducted with DB-OTO. The risk of insertional mutagenesis with recombinant AAV vectors is considered to be low.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗
Cell therapy · Species

Which animal species did regulators accept for approved cell therapies?

15 of 27 approved cell therapies ran pivotal tox in: no relevant species.
Monkey + rodent2/27
Rodent only5/27
Other species5/27
No relevant species15/27
The evidence · 3 of 81 regulator sentences
  1. BreyanziCell therapy · CD19 CAR-T · Species
    No relevant species; in vitro and NSG mouse xenograft only
    “In particular, suitable animal models are not available for accurately assessing the non-clinical characteristics of a human cell-based product such as JCAR017.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 37Source ↗
  2. HoloclarCell therapy · Autologous limbal stem cells · Species
    No animal species; abridged programme of in vitro tumorigenicity assays and literature
    “Conventional non-clinical studies were generally not considered appropriate for Holoclar as a cell-based medicinal product (CBMP).”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 17Source ↗
  3. TecelraCell therapy · MAGE-A4 TCR-T · Species
    No relevant species; in vitro cross-reactivity/alloreactivity and murine xenograft pharmacology only
    “Standard in vivo single-dose or repeat-dose toxicity studies were not conducted with afamitresgene autoleucel due to the lack of appropriate animal models for testing of human TCR engineered T-cells.”
    ✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
Cell therapy · Risks

Which risks did regulators probe for approved cell therapies?

What reviewers probed for each of the 27 approved cell therapies.
The evidence · 3 of 80 regulator sentences
  1. AucatzylCell therapy · CD19 CAR-T · Immune & cytokine safety
    No nonclinical CRS/ICANS model; CRS and neurotoxicity judged clinically manageable; CAT19 showed higher TNF-α in vitro/in vivo
    “Known risks of CAR T cell therapies (e.g., CRS or neurotoxicity) can be clinically monitored and managed.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗
  2. AbecmaCell therapy · BCMA CAR-T · Immune & cytokine safety
    BCMA-specific IFN-γ release in vitro; CRS not modeled; expected depletion of normal plasma cells
    “It is also expected that ide-cel will deplete healthy plasma cells that express BCMA.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 46Source ↗
  3. AlofiselCell therapy · Allogeneic adipose MSC · Immune & cytokine safety
    Low T-cell recognition and delayed NK elimination in vitro; immunocompetent rats showed rejection-type inflammation
    “Data generated in other toxicity studies show low potential for T-cell mediated eASC recognition, in vitro and delayed NK cell mediated elimination.”
    ✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Ask your own question

Ask Atlas, your on-demand regulatory agent, answers for your target, modality and package.

Request an invite