Request an invite

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved oligonucleotides?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 24 approved oligonucleotides. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
0 of 24 public reviews say how the first human dose was set; 2 more say it partly.
Partly stated2/24
Not stated publicly22/24

Precedent by precedent

24 approved oligonucleotides, with the reviewers' own words.

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Applicant estimated safe starting dose from nonclinical results; method not specified
“In addition, on the basis of these non-clinical studies the applicant estimated an acceptable safe starting dose for humans based on the results observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
1-year monkey NOAEL 10 mg/kg/week (vascular intimal hyperplasia at 30); kidney NOAEL 3 mg/kg/week; liver, kidney, thrombocytopenia
“In a chronic monkey study, multi-focal intimal hyperplasia with mixed inflammatory infiltrates was evident in vascular beds in 2 of 6 monkeys treated for 12 months with 30 mg/kg/week with a no-observed-adverse-effect-level (NOAEL) of 10 mg/kg/week”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Starting-dose rationale not stated; FDA capped clinical IT dose at 25 mg (~1/10 mouse/monkey NOAEL), later 50 mg Q12W
“The FDA placed protocol ION373-CS1 on hold for IT doses of ION373 exceeding 25 mg, which is approximately 1/10th the NOAELs in mouse and monkey”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 133Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 25 mg monkey ITL, 0.2 mg mouse ICV; transient patellar reflex loss, neuronal vacuolation at high dose; CSF-volume margins 5-17x
“The NOAEL in the 9-month ITL study in juvenile monkey was 25 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 75Source ↗

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Kidney tubular basophilia/vacuolation, degeneration; juvenile rat NOAEL 300 mg/kg (4x AUC); no kidney no-effect dose in mouse/rat
“Due to the observation of degeneration and necrosis in renal tubular epithelium in a significant number of HD animals, the NOAEL for this study was the MD of 300 mg/kg”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 75Source ↗

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL = high doses (150 mg/kg rat, 300 mg/kg monkey monthly); ~600x/~4400x human AUC; non-adverse liver, kidney, lymph node findings
“The no observed adverse effect levels (NOAELs) in the chronic studies were the high doses of 150 and 300 mg/kg/month in rat and monkey, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/week (platelet reductions at higher doses; ~29-fold margin); mouse NOAEL top dose; liver and kidney target organs
“The NOAEL for donidalorsen was determined to be 6 mg/kg/week in monkeys, based on PLT reductions”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Kidney tubular degeneration in all species; monkey NOAEL 320 mg/kg (~20x AUC); juvenile rat NOAEL 300 mg/kg (6x); bone density loss
“As shown in the table below, safety margins based on AUCs at the NOAELs in the pivotal toxicity studies in monkey and juvenile rat are 20-fold and 6-fold, respectively, compared to the mean AUC observed in DMD patients”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 91Source ↗

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Liver primary target in rat and monkey (single-cell necrosis, enzyme increases); no adverse findings at 3.5x (rat) and 26.3x (monkey) exposure
“No adverse findings were associated with chronic, weekly administration of givosiran to rats and monkeys at doses that achieved exposure multiples of 3.5- and 26.3 fold, respectively when compared to exposures achieved in patients receiving the maximum recommended human dose.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 47Source ↗

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Rabbit NOEL 0.5 mg/eye, NOAEL >=1.5 mg/eye; dog NOAEL 1.0 mg/eye; reversible retinal ganglion cell vacuolation, optic tract vacuolation in dog
“In the rabbit, based on the retinal vacuolation, the NOEL for avacincaptad pegol is 0.5 mg/eye for single and repeated IVT injections (0.66X the recommended clinical dose).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 7Source ↗

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL = highest doses (250 mg/kg rat, 300 mg/kg monkey Q4W); non-adverse liver, kidney, injection site, lymph node accumulation findings
“Since none of the findings were considered adverse, the NOAEL was 300 mg/kg/28 days and provides a 19-fold exposure multiple to clinical exposure based on body”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 39Source ↗

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 3 mg/eye dog, 2 mg/eye rabbit; rat IV NOAEL 1 mg/kg/day (nephropathy, PEG vacuolated macrophages)
“In the peer-review, additional injection-related, but no drug-related findings were observed and a NOAEL of 3 mg/eye was confirmed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 10Source ↗

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Liver (single-cell necrosis, vacuolation) drove NOAELs in all species; also spleen, bone marrow, lymph nodes, adrenal
“The liver is the primary site of patisiran-LNP uptake and accumulation, and hepatotoxicity determined the NOAELS in all non-clinical species.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 40Source ↗

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAELs = highest doses (200 mg/kg rat, 300 mg/kg monkey monthly); non-adverse liver, kidney, coagulation, injection site, lymph node findings
“The no observed adverse effect levels (NOAELs) in the chronic repeat-dose toxicity studies with once monthly dosing were the highest doses tested, 200 and 300 mg/kg for rats and monkeys, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 56Source ↗

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 9-month IT NOAEL 12 mg Q2W (neurological signs at 35 mg); ~1.2-fold margin by CSF-volume scaling; mouse platelet decreases, no NOAEL
“Based on neurological signs in the 9-month study, the NOAEL for IT administration of tofersen in cynomolgus monkey was 12 mg every 2 weeks, resulting in plasma Cmax and AUC0-24h of 4840 ng/mL and 30,000 µg·h/mL, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Rat 26-wk NOAEL 1 mg/kg/wk females, 0.5 mg/kg/wk males (fatal clotting at 1); monkey 39-wk 0.5 mg/kg/wk tolerated; thrombosis, hepatic necrosis, injection-site findings
“The no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) was the high dose (HD) of 1 mg/kg/week in females, based on the absence of toxicity, and the MD of 0.5 mg/kg/week in males, based on severe clotting.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 153Source ↗

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Rat NOAEL 120 mg/kg Q4W (47x MRHD); monkey NOAEL 180 mg/kg (140x, top dose); liver, kidney, lymph node, injection-site changes
“The NOAEL was considered 180 mg/kg/Q4W (140-fold MRHD, BSA), the highest dose tested, based on the absence of significant toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 247Source ↗

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Juvenile monkey NOAEL 100 mg/kg (29x AUC); Kupffer/macrophage basophilic hypertrophy in liver, lymph nodes, testes, injection sites
“The NOAEL for nedosiran in the most sensitive and relevant species, the juvenile monkey, is 100 mg/kg, with a corresponding AUC0-48h 400 µg·h/mL, which is approximately 29-fold higher”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 51Source ↗

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Mouse NOAEL 20 mg/kg; monkey HNSTD 15 mg/kg/week; cytopenias, complement activation, aPTT prolongation, liver/kidney
“No NOAEL could be determined. Instead, a highest non-severely toxic dose (HNSTD) of 15 mg/kg was established, as no mortalities or life-threatening were observed at this dose.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey neurotoxicity NOAEL 0.3 mg/dose; hippocampal neuronal vacuolation/necrosis; no CSF-based safety margin
“The no-effect dose (0.3 mg) for neurotoxicity in the 53-week monkey study was associated with csf levels (12 ng/mL) generally less than that in SMA patients (7-35 ng/mL); therefore, there is no safety margin based on csf levels.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 89Source ↗

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 39-wk NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (severe thrombocytopenia); rat NOAEL 5 mg/kg (glomerulopathy); margins <=~2-fold
“The NOAEL was 6 mg/kg/week, based on the severe thrombocytopenia observed at 10 and 20 mg/kg/week.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 70Source ↗

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 6 mg/kg/wk (6x BSA margin); mouse NOAEL 2 mg/kg/wk; liver, kidney, injection site, thrombocytopenia
“Drug-related effects consistent with the expected toxicities of an ASO with a phosphorothioate backbone were evident in the liver, kidney, and spleen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 220Source ↗

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg
“Based on the 39-week study, the NOAEL for IV administration of vitolarsen in male cynomolgus monkeys was 60 mg/kg (Cmax = 613.9 µg/mL; AUC0-24h = 261.1 µg*h/mL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Severe renal toxicity, lethal in juvenile rat at 900 mg/kg; juvenile rat NOAEL 100 mg/kg (2.6x AUC); monkey NOAEL 80 mg/kg
“The NOAEL for this study was the LD of 100 mg/kg. The AUC0-t at this dose was 239,000 ng•hr/mL. This dose provides a safety margin of approximately 2.6X over the recommended human dose of 30 mg/kg, based on plasma exposure.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 113Source ↗

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 25 mg/kg Q4W (39 wk; 134x AUC margin); basophilic granules liver/kidney/lymph nodes; one monkey thrombocytopenia
“Based on plasma exposure, the NOAEL in monkey will provide safety margins of 134 (AUC0-24h) and 112 (Cmax) compared to the proposed human dose of 45 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 50Source ↗

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 39-week NOAEL 3 mg/kg (per EMA table); thrombocytopenia, kidney/liver basophilic granules, inflammatory cytokines, injection-site findings
“Cynomolgus monkey: 7 or 9/s/g 0-3-6-12-20 39 wk 3”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗