Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vitravene

fomivirsen
oligonucleotideCMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)21-mer phosphorothioate antisense oligodeoxynucleotideCMV retinitis in patients with AIDS
Species
MonkeyRabbit
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rabbit and monkey
“It appeared that intravitreal injection of ISIS 2922 caused cyclitis in the animals, monkeys and rabbits, and humans. The observed ocular changes were dose-dependent. In the severe cases, retina was involved in the ocular alterations.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗
Why that species
No animal model of HCMV infection; antiviral activity shown only in vitro
“Due to lack of animal models for HCMV infection, the anti-CMV activity of fomivirsen has been demonstrated in in vitro tissue culture settings.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 4Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; fomivirsen itself was injected intravitreally in rabbits and monkeys
“It appeared that intravitreal injection of ISIS 2922 caused cyclitis in the animals, monkeys and rabbits, and humans. The observed ocular changes were dose-dependent. In the severe cases, retina was involved in the ocular alterations.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗
Species: general tox
Monkey and rabbit (intravitreal)
“It appeared that intravitreal injection of ISIS 2922 caused cyclitis in the animals, monkeys and rabbits, and humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗
Species: DART
Not conducted: no reproductive toxicology information provided
“No information was provided.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Species: carcinogenicity
Not conducted (waiver requested)
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Surrogate used in
No surrogate used; fomivirsen itself injected intravitreally in monkeys and rabbits
“It appeared that intravitreal injection of ISIS 2922 caused cyclitis in the animals, monkeys and rabbits, and humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 weeks
“No intact fomivirsen was observed in any of tissues (kidney, liver, ovary, and uterus) following 1, 3, or 8 doses of 10 uM (115 ug) fomivirsen administered every-other-week for three months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Cynomolgus monkey multiple-dose intravitreal ocular toxicity and systemic exposure study, with prophylactic corticosteroid
“To evaluate the effects of ISIS 2922 on ocular tissues in cynomolgus monkeys that have received prophylactic corticosteroid treatment and to determine the systemic exposure (i.e. plasma, kidney, liver, and uterus concentrations) following multiple intravitreal injection.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 23Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravitreal
“Ocular kinetic parameters of fomivirsen following intravitreal injection to rabbits and monkeys are summarized in the following table.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 32Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted: mutagenic potential evaluated in in vitro and in vivo assays
“The mutagenic potentials of fomivirsen were evaluated in both in vitro and in vivo systems and results were summarized in the following table.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; waiver requested citing lack of meaningful systemic exposure
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor. The sponsor stated that "lack of meaningful systemic exposure, additional systemic toxicity studies are neither relevant nor useful for assessing the safety profile of this compound".”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted; no reproductive toxicology information provided
“No information was provided.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
ECG in repeat-dose intravitreal monkey study: no PR, QRS or QT changes, arrhythmia or conduction disturbances
“Neither significant changes in P-R, QRS, and Q-T intervals nor arrhythmia nor conduction disturbances were observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 20Source ↗
Genotox: Ames
Not mutagenic (Salmonella)
“Ames Salmonella syphimurium: T498, TAI00, 6.7 - 5000 up/plate Not mutagenic”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Genotox: in vitro mammalian
Chromosome aberration in CHO-K1 cells: not clastogenic; mouse lymphoma assay result not legible
“Chromosome CHO-KI cells Aberration TReport N° ISIS 2922-1S01 : DETO 10, 800) , 800, or Not clastogenic”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Genotox: in vivo
Mouse bone marrow micronucleus assay conducted; result not stated legibly
“Micronucleus ICR mice -Bone Marrow Cells”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity model
Not conducted: waiver citing lack of meaningful systemic exposure
“A waiver from performing carcinogenicity studies was requested by the sponsor. The sponsor stated that "lack of meaningful systemic exposure, additional systemic toxicity studies are neither relevant nor useful for assessing the safety profile of this compound".”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity timing
Not required: FDA accepted the carcinogenicity waiver
“the review division would accept the request from the sponsor for a waiver of carcinogenicity studies on fomivirsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗
hERG / QT
No hERG assay; no PR, QRS or QT changes, arrhythmia or conduction disturbances on ECG in repeat-dose monkey study
“Neither significant changes in P-R, QRS, and Q-T intervals nor arrhythmia nor conduction disturbances were observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 20Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vitravene don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oligonucleotides outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6 (FDA review, p. 24)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6
“Group 2 (115 ug of fomivirsen + triamcinolone) or in control animals had no ocular alterations. A transient decrease in IOP was identified in 3/6 Group 2 animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 24Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Ocular inflammation in monkeys: acute anterior uveitis and cyclitis with inflammatory cells, flare and iris neovascularization
“Group 3 monkeys had acute anterior uveitis and cyclitis characterized by aqueous flare, inflammatory cells in the anterior chamber, hemorrhage into anterior chamber, and neovascularization of the iris, anterior synechiae of both irides as revealed by ophthalmic examination on Days 5, 8, 15 and 22.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 24Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Low systemic exposure after intravitreal dosing; in rabbits about 2 to 3% of dose in kidneys and liver
“Systemic exposure to fomivirsen following intravitreal administration was low. In rabbits treated with radiolabeled fomivirsen, it was possible to measure low levels (~2 to 3% of the total dose) of radioactivity in kidneys and liver.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 33Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Dose-dependent intraocular inflammation (cyclitis), with retinal involvement in severe cases
“It appeared that intravitreal injection of ISIS 2922 caused cyclitis in the animals, monkeys and rabbits, and humans. The observed ocular changes were dose-dependent. In the severe cases, retina was involved in the ocular alterations.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 36Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Safety marginopen answer page →

Safety margin at NOAEL
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 115 µg intravitreal with triamcinolone: no ocular alterations; transient IOP decrease in 3/6
“Group 2 (115 ug of fomivirsen + triamcinolone) or in control animals had no ocular alterations. A transient decrease in IOP was identified in 3/6 Group 2 animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 24Source ↗

Efficacy evidenceopen answer page →

Efficacy evidence
In vitro HCMV inhibition in primary human retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) cells
“In order to evaluate the ability of fomivirsen to inhibit CMV replication in retinal cells, primary human retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) cells were used as indicator cells.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 5Source ↗
Why that model
No animal model of HCMV infection; activity shown only in tissue culture
“Due to lack of animal models for HCMV infection, the anti-CMV activity of fomivirsen has been demonstrated in in vitro tissue culture settings.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 4Source ↗
Reviewer's view of the efficacy data
FDA: in vitro antiviral activity may reflect both sequence-dependent and sequence-independent effects
“Therefore, it is possible that the antiviral activity of fomivirsen observed is the results of a combination of sequence-dependent and sequence-independent effects via interfering specifically with viral replication processes.”
✓ VerifiedFDA review, p. 5Source ↗

Similar precedents