Request an invite

Qalsody

tofersen
oligonucleotideSOD1 (ASO)2'-MOE antisense oligonucleotide (RNase H1) targeting SOD1 3'-UTR, intrathecalALS with SOD1 mutation (adults)
Species
MonkeyRatMouse
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Cynomolgus monkey (IT, relevant species), CD-1 mouse (SC) and rat single-dose IT
“From the PK point of view, the monkey was the most relevant species for non-clinical efficacy and safety studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Why that species
Single base-pair mismatch to monkey SOD1 (likely active); all other species have >=4 mismatches
“Furthermore, a single base-pair mismatch to the Cynomolgus monkey gene suggests it may be active in NHPs, thereby enabling assessment of possible on-target effects, while wild-type animals of all other species appear not to be suitable due to at least four or more mismatches in the target sequence.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; no rodent SOD1-targeting ASO identified; clinical ASO tested in all species
“No ASO specifically targeting rat and mouse SOD1 was used in toxicology studies, due to the lack of sequence homology of tofersen in rodents.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“Repeat IT dosing with 0, 4, 12, and 35 mg tofersen every 2 weeks for a 9-month period resulted in uncoordinated leg movement and transient impairments of patellar and foot-grip reflexes in HDM and HDF.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Monkey IT Q2W 13-week and 9-month; mouse SC 12- and 26-week; rat single-dose IT; full genetox and DART
“Nonclinical toxicity studies submitted to the NDA consisted of single dose (rat) and repeat dose (mouse and monkey) general toxicity studies, as well a complete battery of genetic toxicology and reproductive and developmental toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 84Source ↗
Route in tox
Intrathecal bolus (monkey, rat; clinical route); subcutaneous (mouse, rabbit) for systemic exposure
“SC administration of 0, 6, 30, and 150 mg/kg tofersen every other week for 26 weeks in male and female CD1 mice resulted in dose-dependent reductions in platelet counts in males (up to 20%) and in HDF (13%).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, CHL chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Tofersen was negative in a complete battery of genetic toxicology studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 84Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval (severity of indication); to be assessed post-approval
“Due to the severity of the indication, the carcinogenic potential of tofersen is to be conducted post-approval.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Mouse fertility (seminiferous tubule degeneration, NOAEL 10 mg/kg), mouse/rabbit EFD and mouse PPND negative; pharmacologically non-relevant species
“There were no effects on embryofetal development in CD1 mouse or NZW rabbit, or on pre- and postnatal development in CD1 mouse.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 84Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into single-dose IT rat (CNS) and 13-week IT monkey study (CNS, CV, respiratory); hERG in vitro
“Safety pharmacology assessments following IT administration of tofersen were incorporated into a single dose study in male and female SD rats (CNS) and a 13-week repeat (Q2W) dose toxicity study in cynomolgus monkeys (CNS, CV, and respiratory).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 179Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey 9-month IT NOAEL 12 mg Q2W (neurological signs at 35 mg); ~1.2-fold margin by CSF-volume scaling; mouse platelet decreases, no NOAEL
“Based on neurological signs in the 9-month study, the NOAEL for IT administration of tofersen in cynomolgus monkey was 12 mg every 2 weeks, resulting in plasma Cmax and AUC0-24h of 4840 ng/mL and 30,000 µg·h/mL, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 180Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
CSF inflammation at 35 mg in monkey; ADA not assessed in animal studies (58.4% of patients ADA-positive)
“The development of anti-tofersen antibodies was not investigated in the chronic toxicity studies in rat, mice and monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Rapid CSF-to-CNS tissue distribution with transfer to systemic circulation; long CSF/CNS half-life (20-45 days, monkey)
“The rapid distribution phase is due to the rapid and broad distribution from the CSF to the CNS tissues with additional clearance due to transfer to the systemic circulation.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
CNS: neuronal vacuolation and transient neurological signs after IT ASO; class thrombocytopenia/renal risks considered
“In monkeys, IT administration of 0, 4, 12, and 35 mg tofersen in male and female cynomolgus monkeys every other week for 9 months resulted in histologic findings of neuronal vacuolation at all doses; however, vacuolation was not accompanied by neurodegeneration and was not present in recovery groups.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 84Source ↗

Similar precedents