Nonclinical precedent Request an invite
Atlas/Cell therapy/Encelto/Safety margin

Encelto: what safety margin did regulators accept?

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Safety margin at NOAEL
rhCNTF DART NOAEL margins of exposure above 100 vs modelled maximum blood rhCNTF from intraocular implant
“As shown in the above table, MOEs are above 100, indicating adequate protection of human health and a low risk of adverse reproductive and developmental effects.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 43Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL set for device; minimal lens, vitreous and ocular inflammation; no systemic findings. rhCNTF DART NOAELs used for margins of exposure
“ITV implantation of NT-501 did not cause any effects on systemic clinical signs, gross pathology, or histopathology of non-ocular organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Same question, other cell therapies

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Minipig study up to 3.2-fold the maximum clinical dose; other studies at doses similar to the clinical dose

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Mouse target dose ~two log above proposed clinical dose; this dose caused 100% GvHD mortality (no NOAEL)

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
UM171: no toxicity in rat/monkey at doses 8,000-20,000x estimated human exposure

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Not stated in public reviews

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Not stated in public reviews

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Not stated in public reviews

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Not stated in public reviews

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Not stated in public reviews

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Not stated in public reviews

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Not stated in public reviews

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Not stated in public reviews

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Not stated in public reviews

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Not stated in public reviews

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Not stated in public reviews

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Not stated in public reviews

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Not stated in public reviews

Summary across all 27 cell therapies →