Request an invite

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel
cell therapyCNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)Encapsulated allogeneic RPE cell line (NTC-201-6A) secreting rhCNTF, intravitreal implantIdiopathic macular telangiectasia type 2 (MacTel)
Species
RatDogRabbitPig
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Minipig, pig and rabbit (ocular tox/PK); rcd1 dog for pharmacology; rat and rabbit for rhCNTF DART
“The effect of long-term ITV implantation of NT-501 was evaluated in a 3-part toxicology study in 4–8-month-old minipigs, 4–10-year-old pigs”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Why that species
Disease-relevant animal models support CNTF photoreceptor protection; no explicit species rationale for tox species
“Histopathologic studies in naturally occurring and genetically engineered animal models of photoreceptor dysfunction that phenotypically model retinitis pigmentosa support a role for rhCNTF”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate cell product; representative NT-501 device used; DART used recombinant human CNTF SC in rat/rabbit
“The nonclinical development program evaluated a product representative of ENCELTO”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“There was no evidence of systemic exposure to rhCNTF after ITV implantation of NT-501 in minipigs for up to 6 months or in rabbits for up to 9 months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Non-GLP 12-week rabbit ocular tox/PK; 3-part minipig/pig long-term ITV implant study to 6 months; unencapsulated-cell device failure study in minipigs
“The effect of long-term ITV implantation of NT-501 was evaluated in a 3-part toxicology study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravitreal (ITV) implantation via pars plana sclerotomy; SC rhCNTF in DART studies
“ENCELTO is intended for surgical implantation by intravitreal (ITV) insertion via a pars plana sclerotomy.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 1Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Done: ISO-10993 battery (bacterial, mammalian cell, mouse micronucleus on device extracts), negative
“No genotoxicity was observed in these studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (waived based on toxicological risk assessments)
“Studies to evaluate the carcinogenicity/tumorigenicity of ENCELTO were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Four DART studies of SC rhCNTF in rats and rabbits; no teratogenicity; exemption for device via margin of exposure
“There were no rhCNTF-related teratologic changes reported in the fetuses.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated as separate studies; ERG assessments for intraocular implants in pharmacology
“Electroretinographic (ERG) Assessments for Intra-Ocular Implantation of”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL set for device; minimal lens, vitreous and ocular inflammation; no systemic findings. rhCNTF DART NOAELs used for margins of exposure
“ITV implantation of NT-501 did not cause any effects on systemic clinical signs, gross pathology, or histopathology of non-ocular organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Minipig/pig studies to 6 months showed no immune response to rhCNTF or cells; mild to moderate ocular inflammation
“Two preclinical studies in minipigs or pigs implanted with NT-501-6A.02 device for up to 6 months showed no immune response to rhCNTF or cell producing the protein.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
No systemic rhCNTF exposure after ITV implant (minipig to 6 months, rabbit to 9 months); implants delivered about 7-9 ng/day
“In rabbits, NT-501 implants established CNTF levels averaging about 7-9 ng/day for up to 9 months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Local ocular toxicity from capsule/rhCNTF dose (cone effects at high output), device failure with cell release, systemic CNTF exposure
“a dose-response to rhCNTF was present, with eyes implanted with empty capsules and capsules with a low CNTF output cell line exhibiting less intense changes than eyes implanted with NT-501.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Similar precedents