Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Defitelio: which risks did reviewers probe?

defibrotide · Fragmented DNA oligonucleotides
Immune & cytokine safety
Mouse 4-week immune function assays (NK activity, anti-SRBC response, macrophage cytotoxicity, lymphocyte proliferation): no clear effect
“Mice were treated orally or i.p. daily (5 days a week) for 4 weeks and a number of functional assays were performed (NK cell activity, anti-SRBC antibody response, macrophage cytotoxicity, lymphocyte proliferation). No clear effect on immune functions was observed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 24Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Radiolabel distributed to kidneys, liver, bone marrow, spleen and small intestine; low levels in brain and fat
“Radio-labelled defibrotide showed preferential distribution into highly perfused tissues: kidneys, liver, bone marrow, spleen and small intestine with lower levels in rat testes and low levels to the brain and to fat.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Direct effects on coagulation (dose-dependent PT and APTT prolongation)
“Defibrotide may have direct effects on coagulation based on the dose-dependent effects of the drug on PT and APTT.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: animals
Anti-drug antibodies assessed in rat and dog 13-week studies; results not reported
“The antigenicity and the potential of defibrotide to elicit anti-drug antibodies was assessed by testing rat and dog plasma samples generated in the repeat dose 13-week toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗
Anti-drug antibodies: patients
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

Same question, other oligonucleotides

Amondys 45

casimersen · DMD exon 45 (PMO)
Dose-related complement activation (Bb, C3a) in 12-week monkey; no immune function effects in juvenile rat

Amvuttra

vutrisiran · TTR (siRNA)
No ADA in rats; non-dose-related ADA in 8/32 monkeys without impact; no cytokine stimulation in vitro or in monkeys

Cyfendus

anthrax vaccine adsorbed, adjuvanted · TLR9 (CpG 7909 adjuvant)
Transient neutrophil, monocyte, basophil and inflammatory-marker increases; spleen weight increase and lymphoid hyperplasia

Dawnzera

donidalorsen · Prekallikrein / KLKB1 (ASO)
No cytokine/chemokine or C3 effects; minimal transient complement Bb increase at 30 mg/kg/week; ADAs 12.5-62.5% in monkey without impact

Exondys 51

eteplirsen · DMD exon 51 (PMO)
No effects on TDAR or immunophenotyping in juvenile rat; lymphoid necrosis in spleen/thymus at high dose in mouse

Givlaari

givosiran · ALAS1 (siRNA)
Low ADA incidence: rat negative, one monkey ADA-positive; no dedicated antigenicity studies

Heplisav-B

hepatitis B vaccine (recombinant), adjuvanted · TLR9 (CpG 1018 adjuvant)
Serum IL-12p40 rose only 2-fold at ~20x the human CpG 1018 dose; no IL-12p40 or IFN-gamma increase at the 1x human dose

Izervay

avacincaptad pegol · C5 (aptamer)
Main pharmacology-related risk is increased susceptibility to infections (C5 inhibition); no complement activation by the aptamer in monkeys; panuveitis with Lucentis combination

Kynamro

mipomersen · APOB (ASO)
Class proinflammatory effects (MCP-1, IL-1b, CRP); alternative complement activation, C3 depletion in monkeys; no clear ADA

Leqvio

inclisiran · PCSK9 (siRNA)
Delayed/suppressed TDAR (KLH IgM/IgG) in 40-week monkey study, reversible; sporadic low-titre ADA without PD impact

Macugen

pegaptanib · VEGF-165 (aptamer)
No local/systemic immune response or antibody induction; antibody assay of unclear accuracy

Onpattro

patisiran · TTR (siRNA)
Transient complement activation (C3a, Bb) in monkeys, siRNA-independent; ADA to PEG lipid in rats reduced exposure

Oxlumo

lumasiran · HAO1 (siRNA)
Low-titre ADA in 3/36 monkeys, no impact on exposure or tox; no ADA in rats; not immunostimulatory

Qalsody

tofersen · SOD1 (ASO)
CSF inflammation at 35 mg in monkey; ADA not assessed in animal studies (58.4% of patients ADA-positive)

Qfitlia

fitusiran · Antithrombin / SERPINC1 (siRNA)
No ADA in monkeys (0.1-1 mg/kg/week); injection-site hypersensitivity-type skin reactions in rats and monkeys at all doses

Redemplo

plozasiran · APOC3 (siRNA)
Proinflammatory cytokines induced in human whole blood in vitro at high concentrations; none in rat/monkey studies

Rivfloza

nedosiran · LDHA (siRNA)
No cytokine or complement activation in 39-week monkey study; nonclinical ADA not assessed

Rytelo

imetelstat · Telomerase (oligo)
Alternative complement activation (Bb, C5a); no immunotoxicity; no ADA assessment in animals

Spinraza

nusinersen · SMN2 (ASO)
No complement activation or systemic inflammation in IT monkey studies; proinflammatory effects in mice

Tegsedi

inotersen · TTR (ASO)
Monkey perivascular inflammation with ADA, CRP, IL-6, TNFa, IgG/IgM rises; complement Bb activation; ADA in some monkeys

Tryngolza

olezarsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Complement activation (Bb up, C3 down) in monkeys; MCP-1/CRP/IFN-gamma increases; ADAs in 25-62.5% of monkeys

Viltepso

viltolarsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
No cytokine or immunophenotype effects; transient ~2-fold C3 rise at high dose in mouse; no anti-drug antibodies

Vitravene

fomivirsen · CMV IE2 mRNA (ASO)
Ocular inflammation in monkeys: acute anterior uveitis and cyclitis with inflammatory cells, flare and iris neovascularization

Vyondys 53

golodirsen · DMD exon 53 (PMO)
Transient complement activation (Bb, C3a) in 12-week monkey; no immune function effects in juvenile rat

Wainua

eplontersen · TTR (ASO)
Transient complement Bb increases; non-neutralising ADAs in chronic monkey study; minimal cytokine changes

Waylivra

volanesorsen · APOC3 (ASO)
Complement activation in monkeys (class effect, species-specific); cytokine/chemokine increases (MCP-1, MIP-1b); anti-volanesorsen antibodies in 50-72% of monkeys

Zanvastro

zilganersen · GFAP (ASO)
Low-severity proinflammatory findings (liver mononuclear infiltrates, vacuolated macrophages) in 26-week SC mouse study

Summary across all 28 oligonucleotides →