Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Imfinzi

durvalumab
monoclonal antibodyPD-L1Human IgG1 kappa anti-PD-L1 monoclonal antibody, Fc-modified to remove FcR bindingUrothelial carcinoma, NSCLC and other cancers
Species
Monkey
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Cynomolgus monkey only
“The cynomolgus monkey was found to be the only pharmacological relevant nonclinical species for evaluation of local and systemic toxicities of durvalumab.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗
Why that species
Binds only human and cynomolgus monkey PD-L1; monkey the only relevant species
“Durvalumab was found to only bind to human and cynomolgus monkey PD-L1, and the cynomolgus monkey was found to be the only relevant nonclinical species for the safety and toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate in toxicology studies; a mouse anti-mouse PD-L1 surrogate was used in a syngeneic mouse pharmacology model
“For the PD studies, either a model of immunodeficient mice inoculated with a mixture of human tumour cell lines expressing B7- H1 (PD-L1) and human T-cells alloreactive to the human tumour cell lines or in a syngeneic mouse model using a mouse surrogate monoclonal antibody against mouse PD-L1.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 weeks
“Two GLP repeat-dose IV toxicity studies were conducted with durvalumab, a 4-week (Study VMM0008) and a 13-week (Study VMM0033) repeat-dose toxicity study.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Monkey 4-week and 13-week studies: loading dose 30, 60 or 200 mg/kg, then weekly 15, 30 or 100 mg/kg
“in both studies a loading dose (double the maintenance dose) of 30, 60, or 200 mg/kg durvalumab was administered on Day 1, and followed by 4 or 13 weekly doses of 15, 30, or 100 mg/kg, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous
“The IV route of administration was used for all in vivo toxicology studies as this is the intended route of administration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted
“No genotoxicity studies were carried out.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“No carcinogenitity studies were carried out.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Monkey reproduction study (dosing through delivery): premature delivery, fetal loss and increased neonatal deaths; placental transfer
“Administration of durvalumab resulted in premature delivery, fetal loss (abortion and stillbirth), and increase in neonatal deaths. Durvalumab was detected in infant serum on postpartum Day 1, indicating the presence of placental transfer of durvalumab.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into repeat-dose monkey studies (neurologic, respiratory, ECG)
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were incorporated into the repeat-dose toxicology studies (neurologic, respiratory, and electrocardiographic).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 63Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Imfinzi don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for monoclonal antibodies

ADCs with cytotoxic payloads follow the S9 rules (1/10 STD10 or 1/6 HNSTD of the ADC, scaled by body surface area). For immune agonists, a MABEL-based start dose should be considered instead.

“For example, for cytotoxic payloads, the starting clinical dose can be determined using either 1/10th the Severely Toxic Dose (STD) in 10% of animals (STD10) in rodents or 1/6th the Highest Non- Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) in non-rodents, for the ADC based on body surface area, depending on which is the most appropriate and/or sensitive species.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2018: ICH S9 Guideline: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer…, p. 15Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: NOAEL at the high dose (200/100 mg/kg) in the pivotal toxicity studies (EMA assessment report, p. 31)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL at the high dose (200/100 mg/kg) in the pivotal toxicity studies
“The selection of the high dose in all three studies is therefore also accepted as NOAEL (200/100 mg/kg) in the pivotal toxicity studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No cytokine release in a human whole blood assay
“In a human whole blood assay, durvalumab did not induce the release of any cytokine”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 63Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Volume of distribution 40.5-73.0 mL/kg, consistent with residence mainly in plasma volume
“the volume of distribution is in the range of 40.5 to 73.0 mL/kg, which is expected for large protein molecules as these primarily resides in the plasma volume”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Immune-mediated toxicity: multi-organ arteritis/periarteritis and inflammatory cell infiltration (PD-L1 role in peripheral tolerance)
“Intravenous (IV) administration of durvalumab caused multi-organ arteritis/periarteritis and inflammatory cell infiltration. The immune-mediated findings were consistent with the role of PD-L1 in regulating and maintaining peripheral tolerance.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Similar precedents