Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Zevtera

ceftobiprole medocaril
small moleculePenicillin-binding proteinsIntravenous cephalosporin prodrug antibacterial (PBP inhibitor)S. aureus bacteremia, ABSSSI and community-acquired bacterial pneumonia
Species
RatDog
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat, marmoset and dog
“In 2- 4- and 13-week studies in rats, marmosets, and dogs, injection site findings included thrombus formation, accumulation of inflammatory cells, thickening of the vascular wall in the periphery of the dosing catheter, granulomas, edema/hemorrhage and/or necrosis of tissues around the catheter.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 125Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical prodrug ceftobiprole medocaril was tested
“The nonclinical safety profile of ceftobiprole medocaril sodium has been explored in single and repeat-dose studies in mice, rats, dogs, rabbits and monkeys for up to 3 months duration”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 125Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 (13-week rat, marmoset and dog)
“In 2- 4- and 13-week studies in rats, marmosets, and dogs, injection site findings included thrombus formation, accumulation of inflammatory cells, thickening of the vascular wall in the periphery of the dosing catheter, granulomas, edema/hemorrhage and/or necrosis of tissues around the catheter.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 125Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
13-week rat, marmoset and dog studies (plus 2- and 4-week studies)
“In 2- 4- and 13-week studies in rats, marmosets, and dogs, injection site findings included thrombus formation, accumulation of inflammatory cells, thickening of the vascular wall in the periphery of the dosing catheter, granulomas, edema/hemorrhage and/or necrosis of tissues around the catheter.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 125Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous
“Nearly all studies have been conducted via the intravenous route, except for juvenile toxicology study conducted in rats by the subcutaneous route.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 246Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in vivo (micronucleus and rat liver UDS), reducing concern over clastogenic signals in vitro
“However, in vivo ceftobiprole medocaril sodium was negative in both the micronucleus assay and rat liver unscheduled DNA synthesis reducing concern for potential clastogenic activity.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 293Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; not warranted for short treatment duration
“No studies were available and none are warranted for this relatively short treatment duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 276Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and monkey EFD: no adverse fetal developmental outcomes at ~1.4x and 0.9x MRHD
“Intravenous administration of ceftobiprole medocaril sodium to pregnant rats and monkeys during organogenesis showed no evidence of adverse fetal developmental outcomes at doses approximately 1.4 times and 0.9 times the MRHD, respectively, based on BSA comparison.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 237Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Mouse CNS study: convulsions are a primary CNS effect of ceftobiprole, not secondary to kidney damage
“Ro 63-9141-induced convulsion appears to be a primary effect and not secondary to kidney damage as convulsions were seen with direct injection into the brain.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 245Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Zevtera don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 13-week studies: convulsions and mortality at ≥50 mg/kg (marmoset, 0.2x MRHD) and ≥250 mg/kg (rat, 0.94x MRHD) (FDA integrated review, p. 125)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
13-week studies: convulsions and mortality at ≥50 mg/kg (marmoset, 0.2x MRHD) and ≥250 mg/kg (rat, 0.94x MRHD)
“However, in the 13-week studies in the rats and marmosets at similar doses to those used in shorter term studies, convulsions and mortality were observed (≥50 mg/kg in marmosets, 0.2 times the MRHD; ≥250 mg/kg in rats, 0.94 times the MRHD, based on BSA comparisons).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 125Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Rat QWBA: radioactivity in all tissues with low overall distribution
“In a rat exploratory quantitative whole body autoradiography study following a single intravenous administration of 14C radiolabeled ceftobiprole medocaril sodium (20 mg/kg), quantifiable levels of radioactivity (>0.29 mcg-equiv/g) were detected in all tissues with a low overall distribution into most organs and tissues.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 246Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Convulsions and thrombi/emboli with dosing longer than one month
“Both rats and marmosets showed convulsions and thrombi and/or emboli with dosing durations greater than one month.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗

Similar precedents