Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Xacduro

sulbactam and durlobactam
small moleculePBPs; beta-lactamase (durlobactam)IV co-packaged beta-lactam plus diazabicyclooctenone beta-lactamase inhibitorHABP/VABP caused by Acinetobacter baumannii-calcoaceticus complex
Species
RatMouseDog
Longest study
4 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not stated Not stated
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog (mouse for embryo-fetal development)
“Pivotal nonclinical studies were conducted in rats, mice and dogs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Repeated intravenous dosing of sulbactam-durlobactam in rats for 28 days resulted in reversible perivascular inflammation and thrombus at the injection site”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
4 (28-day dog)
“A 28-Day Study of ETX2514 by Intravenous Infusion in Beagle Dogs With a 28-Day Recovery Period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 97Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
28-day intravenous sulbactam-durlobactam study in rats
“Repeated intravenous dosing of sulbactam-durlobactam in rats for 28 days resulted in reversible perivascular inflammation and thrombus at the injection site”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous infusion
“Repeated intravenous dosing of sulbactam-durlobactam in rats for 28 days resulted in reversible perivascular inflammation and thrombus at the injection site”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Durlobactam negative in in vivo rat micronucleus assay up to 2000 mg/kg
“Durlobactam did not induce statistically significant increases in micronucleated PCEs at any test article dose up to 2000 mg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 111Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Reproductive & developmental
Durlobactam rat fertility/EFD study: no toxicologically significant effects up to 3x clinical AUC
“At doses up to 3 times the maximum recommended dose based on AUC comparisons, there were no toxicologically significant drug-related effects of durlobactam in pups born to rats dosed for 2 weeks prior to pairing, during pairing, and up to gestation Day 17.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 116Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No safety signals in safety pharmacology studies; no potent secondary pharmacology activity
“There were no safety signals observed in safety pharmacology studies. Secondary pharmacology data did not reveal any potent activity among 192 pharmacology receptors/enzymes evaluated.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Xacduro don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Dog IV study: NOAEL not determined (prostate findings at lowest dose); prostate and testes weight changes did not reverse (FDA integrated review, p. 97)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Dog IV study: NOAEL not determined (prostate findings at lowest dose); prostate and testes weight changes did not reverse
“A no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) could not be determined because of prostate findings at the lowest dose, but changes reversed by the end of dosing except for prostate and testes weights.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 97Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Rat: low brain and spinal cord levels (tissue/blood <0.1); no blood-brain barrier penetration
“Concentrations in the brain and spinal cord were low throughout with tissue/blood ratios of <0.1, indicating that test material-related radioactivity had not penetrated the blood-brain barrier.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 94Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
No specific or serious nonclinical safety concern identified
“No specific or serious safety concern was identified based on nonclinical data.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 53Source ↗

Similar precedents