Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Winlevi

clascoterone
small moleculeAndrogen receptor (topical)Topical cream androgen receptor inhibitor (1%)Acne vulgaris in patients 12 years and older
Species
RatPig
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and minipig
“Regarding clascoterone, the GLP pivotal repeat-doses toxicity studies were performed in two species, in rats and minipigs.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 21Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“In a pivotal 26-week subcutaneous repeat dose toxicity study in rats, clascoterone (doses: 0, 0.1 mg/kg/day, 0.5 mg/kg/day, and 2.5 mg/kg/day) was well-tolerated; no clascoterone-related adverse effects were noted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (39-week dermal minipig)
“In a pivotal 39-week dermal repeat dose toxicity study in minipigs, clascoterone cream (concentrations: 0% [untreated], 0% [vehicle], 1%, 2.5%, and 5% applied to ~10% body surface area (BSA);”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
26-week subcutaneous rat and 39-week dermal minipig studies
“Subcutaneous repeat dose toxicity studies in rats (up to 26 weeks in duration); dermal repeat dose toxicity studies in minipigs (up to 39 weeks in duration)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Route in tox
Subcutaneous (rat) and dermal (minipig)
“Subcutaneous repeat dose toxicity studies in rats (up to 26 weeks in duration); dermal repeat dose toxicity studies in minipigs (up to 39 weeks in duration)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
No clear genotoxic potential; negative Ames and in vitro chromosome aberration assays
“Clascoterone did not display clear genotoxic potential in a standard battery of genetic toxicity studies. Clascoterone was not mutagenic in an in vitro reverse bacterial mutation assay or clastogenic in an in vitro chromosome aberration assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
2-year topical rat study (0.1-5% cream): not carcinogenic
“Clascoterone cream (0.1%, 1%, or 5%) was not carcinogenic after daily topical administration in a 2-year carcinogenicity study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 149Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat EFD: malformations at all doses; no developmental NOAEL
“a developmental NOAEL could not be determined because clascoterone-related malformations were noted in three fetuses at the low dose (LD) and 1 fetus each at the mid dose (MD) and HD.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Low-potency hERG inhibition (40% at 10 uM)
“In a pilot hERG assay, clascoterone produced low potency dose-related inhibition of the hERG potassium current (up to 40% inhibition at the highest concentration evaluated [10μM])”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 37Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Winlevi don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: 39-week minipig NOAEL 5% cream; day-272 AUC 269-401 ng·h/mL (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
39-week minipig NOAEL 5% cream; day-272 AUC 269-401 ng·h/mL
“The NOAEL in both sexes was 5% cream, which corresponds to day 272 AUC0-24 and Cmax of 269 ng·hr/mL and 16.8 ng/mL, respectively, in females, and 401 ng·hr/mL and 30.1 ng/mL, respectively, in males.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Lymphocyte decreases and lymphoid organ atrophy attributed to weak glucocorticoid activity
“The changes observed in the white blood cells population, in the adrenals and in the lymphoid organs (spleen, thymus) were probably related to the weak glucocorticoid activity of the clascoterone.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 22Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Significant accumulation on repeat dosing (AUC ratio 6.38-20.3 in 9-month dermal minipig study)
“After repeated administrations in some toxicity studies in rats and in minipigs, a significant accumulation was observed (e.g. in 9 months dermal in minipigs, the ratio of AUC ranged from 6.38 to 20.3), varying in extent depending on the doses and treatment duration.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Adrenal cortical atrophy, not fully reversible in males
“At the MD and HD, adrenal gland weight decreased in both sexes, corresponding with the microscopic finding of cortical atrophy; these findings were fully reversible in females but not males”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗

Similar precedents