Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Vizz

aceclidine
small moleculeMuscarinic agonist (miotic)Topical ophthalmic small-molecule muscarinic agonist (miotic)Presbyopia
Species
Rabbit
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rabbit
“Table 42. 6-Month Ocular Toxicity Study in Rabbits, Study 21-1257”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 9Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“No changes in ophthalmoscopic observations attributed to aceclidine.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 82Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
26 (6-month rabbit ocular)
“Table 42. 6-Month Ocular Toxicity Study in Rabbits, Study 21-1257”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 9Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
6-month GLP ocular study in rabbits
“Table 42. 6-Month Ocular Toxicity Study in Rabbits, Study 21-1257 Study Features and Methods Details GLP compliance Yes”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 82Source ↗
Route in tox
Topical ocular (bilateral instillation)
“Route of administration (dose volume): Bilateral topical ocular instillation”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 82Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames (Salmonella and E. coli), in vitro chromosome aberration and mouse micronucleus assays
“Aceclidine did not show any potential to cause genetic toxicity in a series of studies that included: 1) bacterial assays (Salmonella and E. coli) for reverse gene mutations; 2) an in vitro chromosome aberration assay in cultured human peripheral blood lymphocytes; and 3) an in vivo chromosome aberration assay (micronucleus test) in mice.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted
“Long term studies in animals have not been performed to evaluate carcinogenic potential.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Oral rat and rabbit EFD: no maternal toxicity, skeletal anomalies or reduced fetal weight at 1.5 mg/kg/day
“In embryofetal development studies, oral administration of aceclidine to pregnant rats and rabbits throughout organogenesis produced no maternal toxicity, skeletal anomalies, nor reduction in fetal body weight at 1.5 mg/kg/day”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted for QT; QT risk considered low given very limited systemic exposure
“QT prolongation Not studied. Given that systemic exposure to aceclidine in the proposed dosage is very limited, the risk of QT prolongation with ocular administration would be low.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 23Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Vizz don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Chronic ocular rabbit study: no adverse ocular or systemic effects (FDA integrated review, p. 77)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Chronic ocular rabbit study: no adverse ocular or systemic effects
“The chronic ocular toxicity of aceclidine hydrochloride was investigated in rabbits, with no adverse ocular or systemic effects at a dose of”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 77Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Rabbit eye: metabolite distributed to all ocular tissues within 30 min; highest in cornea and iris
“3-quinuclidinol distributed to all ocular tissues analyzed within 30 minutes of treatment. The rank order of the exposure was: cornea > iris > choroid > aqueous humor > sclera > retina > lens ≈ vitreous humor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 78Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Systemic exposure quantified via metabolite 3-quinuclidinol as surrogate
“Assays for systemic and ocular exposure to the metabolite 3-quinuclidinol were developed, and 3-quinuclidinol exposure was used as a surrogate to determine ocular distribution and quantify systemic exposure.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 77Source ↗

Similar precedents