Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Simtriyo

centanafadine
small moleculeTriple monoamine reuptakeOral norepinephrine-dopamine-serotonin reuptake inhibitor (CNS stimulant)Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
Species
RatDog
Longest study
43 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“In repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 26-weeks in rats and 43-weeks in dogs, clinical signs related to CNS stimulation, reductions in food consumption, and lower body weight and/or body weight gain were observed dose-dependently across studies in both species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“In repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 26-weeks in rats and 43-weeks in dogs, clinical signs related to CNS stimulation, reductions in food consumption, and lower body weight and/or body weight gain were observed dose-dependently across studies in both species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
43 (43-week juvenile dog)
“Dog, juvenile 43-week (GLP)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 45Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Oral repeat-dose studies up to 26 weeks in rats and 43 weeks in dogs
“In repeat-dose toxicology studies of up to 26-weeks in rats and 43-weeks in dogs, clinical signs related to CNS stimulation, reductions in food consumption, and lower body weight and/or body weight gain were observed dose-dependently across studies in both species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral
“• Oral doses: 0, 3 (LD), 10 (MD), or 30 (HD) mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 42Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, CHO chromosome aberration and rat in vivo micronucleus assays
“Centanafadine was negative in a valid, full battery of genetic toxicology assays including a reverse bacterial mutagenicity (Ames) assay, a chromosome aberration assay (CHO cells), and a rat in vivo micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 46Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
6-month transgenic mouse and 2-year rat: no drug-related neoplasms
“Centanafadine was adequately evaluated in a 6-month transgenic mouse carcinogenicity study and a 2-year rat carcinogenicity study. There was no evidence of drug-related neoplasms in either study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat fertility, rat and rabbit EFD, rat PPND and rat juvenile studies conducted
“Reproductive and developmental toxicity studies that were conducted included fertility studies in male and female rats, embryofetal development (EFD) studies in rats and rabbits, a pre- and post-natal development (PPND) study in rats, and a juvenile animal study (JAS) in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Simtriyo don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Dose-limiting but monitorable body weight reductions; no unmonitorable toxicities below body-weight-effect doses (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 35)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Dose-limiting but monitorable body weight reductions; no unmonitorable toxicities below body-weight-effect doses
“The reductions in body weight were dose-limiting in animals and would be monitorable in humans. There were no unmonitorable toxicities observed at doses below those with adverse effects on body weight.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Modality-specific risk
Abuse potential (CNS stimulant); recommended for Schedule III
“CSS reviewed the nonclinical and clinical abuse-related data submitted in NDA 218145 for centanafadine and concluded that the drug has abuse potential and should be recommended for placement in Schedule III of the CSA, if the NDA for centanafadine is approved as a drug product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 223Source ↗

Similar precedents