Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Revtorpyk

gedatolisib
small moleculePI3K/mTORIntravenous small-molecule PI3K/mTOR kinase inhibitorHR+/HER2- PIK3CA-wild-type advanced breast cancer
Species
RatDog
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with gedatolisib in Sprague Dawley rats and Beagle dogs up to approximately 1-month duration using an every 4-day dosing schedule (8 total doses) and up to approximately 3-month duration using the clinical dosing schedule of once weekly for 3 weeks on followed by 1 week off; both durations were followed by a 12-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with gedatolisib in Sprague Dawley rats and Beagle dogs up to approximately 1-month duration using an every 4-day dosing schedule (8 total doses) and up to approximately 3-month duration using the clinical dosing schedule of once weekly for 3 weeks on followed by 1 week off; both durations were followed by a 12-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 (3-month rat and dog)
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with gedatolisib in Sprague Dawley rats and Beagle dogs up to approximately 1-month duration using an every 4-day dosing schedule (8 total doses) and up to approximately 3-month duration using the clinical dosing schedule of once weekly for 3 weeks on followed by 1 week off; both durations were followed by a 12-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
1-month (8 doses every 4 days) and 3-month (weekly, 3 weeks on/1 week off) rat and dog studies, 12-week recovery
“Repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with gedatolisib in Sprague Dawley rats and Beagle dogs up to approximately 1-month duration using an every 4-day dosing schedule (8 total doses) and up to approximately 3-month duration using the clinical dosing schedule of once weekly for 3 weeks on followed by 1 week off; both durations were followed by a 12-week recovery period.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Route in tox
Intravenous (5-minute infusion)
“Administration of gedatolisib by 5-minute intravenous (IV) infusion for 8 doses (1 dose/4 days) at 10 mg/kg to male and female rats resulted in:”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 62Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, human lymphocyte chromosomal aberration and rat bone marrow micronucleus assays
“Gedatolisib was not mutagenic in an in vitro bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) assay and not clastogenic in a human lymphocyte chromosomal aberration assay. Gedatolisib was not genotoxic in the in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assay.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer indication, ICH S9)
“In accordance with ICH S9 on the Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals, no carcinogenicity studies have been conducted with gedatolisib.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 78Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted: no fertility or EFD studies (advanced cancer; given with drugs known to cause EFD toxicity)
“Fertility and early embryonic development studies are not required as gedatolisib is indicated for the treatment of patients with advanced cancer. In addition, embryo-fetal development studies were not conducted as gedatolisib will be administered in combination with palbociclib and fulvestrant, both of which are known to cause embryo-fetal developmental toxicities.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 78Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Dog CV study: 5 mg/kg raised heart rate (24%) and blood pressure (6%); no QTc or other ECG effects
“In a single dose safety pharmacology study, a 5 mg/kg IV dose of gedatolisib administered to dogs increased heart rate (24%) and arterial blood pressure (6%) compared to control 12- to 33-hours post-dose, without an effect on QTc prolongation or other ECG parameters.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Revtorpyk don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for oncology small molecules (ICH S9)

In cancer patients the start dose should be pharmacologically active yet reasonably safe. A common small-molecule approach is one-tenth of the dose severely toxic to 10% of rodents, or one-sixth of the highest non-severely toxic dose in non-rodents.

“A common approach for many small molecules is to set a start dose at 1/10 the Severely Toxic Dose in 10% of the animals (STD 10) in rodents. If the non-rodent is the most appropriate species, then 1/6 the Highest Non-Severely Toxic Dose (HNSTD) is considered an appropriate starting dose.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH S9: Nonclinical Evaluation for Anticancer Pharmaceuticals, p. 13Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Rat NOAEL 5 mg/kg (8-dose) and 1 mg/kg (4-cycle); mortality, body weight loss, skin ulceration, testicular degeneration at higher doses (FDA multi-discipline review, p. 61)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Rat NOAEL 5 mg/kg (8-dose) and 1 mg/kg (4-cycle); mortality, body weight loss, skin ulceration, testicular degeneration at higher doses
“The no-observed-adverse-effect level (NOAEL) was considered to be 5 mg/kg in the 8-dose study (based on mortality, adverse body weight changes, focal skin ulcerations, and testicular tubular degeneration), and 1 mg/kg in the 4-cycle study (based on histopathologic evidence).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 61Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Decreased white blood cells and lymphocytes, reduced bone marrow cellularity (rat) and lymphocyte depletion in thymus and spleen
“Hematological changes were generally more pronounced in rats than dogs and included decreases in absolute white blood cells, reticulocytes, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, and basophils with microscopic correlates of decreased hematopoietic cellularity in bone marrow (rat), decreased lymphocytes in thymus (rat and dog), and spleen (dog).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 41Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Prolonged retention in pigmented tissues of rats: up to 672 hours in uveal tract and 96 hours in pigmented skin
“Following IV administration of [14C] gedatolisib to pigmented male and female rats, radioactivity was highly concentrated and retained for a prolonged period for up to 672 hours and 96 hours in the uveal tract of the eye and pigmented skin, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 40Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Male and female reproductive organ toxicity (possible impaired fertility)
“Gedatolisib may impair fertility based on adverse effects on reproductive organs in the repeat-dose toxicity studies of up to 3-month duration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 78Source ↗

Similar precedents