Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Lynavoy

linerixibat
small moleculeIBATOral minimally absorbed small-molecule ileal bile acid transporter inhibitorCholestatic pruritus in primary biliary cholangitis
Species
RatDog
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“Linerixibat has been evaluated in oral repeat-dose general toxicity studies of up to 4, 26, and 39 weeks in mice, rats, and dogs, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗
Why that species
ADME profile in rats and dogs consistent with humans
“The consistent absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion profile across rats, dogs, and humans supports the use of these nonclinical species for toxicological evaluation and provides confidence in the safety assessment for human use.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 154Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“Linerixibat has been evaluated in oral repeat-dose general toxicity studies of up to 4, 26, and 39 weeks in mice, rats, and dogs, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (39-week dog)
“In dogs, 500 mg/kg/day (maximum tested dose) was tolerated for 39 weeks, although minimal body weight loss was observed during the first two weeks of the 39-week dog study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
26-week rat and 39-week dog oral studies
“GI effects in the 26-week rat and 39-week dog oral toxicity studies were limited to mild, reversible, fecal alterations in both species and mucosal basophilia/hypertrophy (minimal to slight) in the large intestine in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral (gavage)
“Study Number/ Title: GSK2330672B: 13-Week Oral Gavage Toxicity Study in Rats Followed by 4-Week Off-Dose Period (Study R43264G)”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 162Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro CHO chromosome aberration and in vivo rat micronucleus assays
“Linerixibat did not cause gene mutation or chromosomal damage in a bacterial mutagenicity assay (Ames test), a chromosomal aberration assay using Chinese hamster ovary cells, or an in vivo rat bone marrow micronucleus assay”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 97Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
2-year rat and 26-week rasH2 mouse: no drug-related tumors
“Linerixibat was not tumorigenic in a 2-year oral carcinogenicity study in rats with oral administration of up to 1,000 mg/kg/day (approximately 3,900 times the recommended dose based on AUC). In a 26-week oral carcinogenicity study in TgRasH2 mice, no drug-related tumors were observed following administration of linerixibat up to 160 mg/kg/day.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Oral rat fertility, rat and rabbit EFD, and rat pre/postnatal development studies
“Reproductive and developmental toxicology studies using oral administration of linerixibat included a fertility study in male and female rats, embryo-fetal development studies in rats and rabbits, and a pre- and postnatal development study in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
No hERG inhibition up to the solubility limit (253.73 μM)
“Linerixibat, at concentrations up to the limit of solubility (253.73 μM, 138.71 μg/mL) did not inhibit human ether-a go-go-related gene (hERG) current recorded from human embryonic kidney cells (HEK293) expressing the hERG ion channel.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 95Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Lynavoy don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Findings non-adverse; NOAELs were the highest doses: 1000 mg/kg/day (26-week rat), 500 mg/kg/day (39-week dog) (FDA integrated review, p. 96)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Findings non-adverse; NOAELs were the highest doses: 1000 mg/kg/day (26-week rat), 500 mg/kg/day (39-week dog)
“The findings in these studies were not considered adverse and the no observed adverse effect level (NOAEL) in the 26-week rat and 39-week dog studies were the highest doses administered (1000 and 500 mg/kg/day, respectively).”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Radiolabel studies: drug-related material almost exclusively confined to the GI tract after oral dosing
“Tissue distribution studies using radiolabeled linerixibat revealed that drug-related material was almost exclusively confined to the gastrointestinal tract following oral administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 153Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Gastrointestinal effects in rats and dogs; adrenal cortical hypertrophy in rats
“The principal toxicology findings associated with linerixibat administration were gastrointestinal effects (minimal to slight, reversible) in rats and dogs, and hypertrophy (minimal to mild) in the adrenal cortex in rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 96Source ↗

Similar precedents