Nonclinical precedent Request an invite

Daybue

trofinetide
small moleculeIGF-1 tripeptide analogueOral small-molecule synthetic analogue of IGF-1-derived tripeptide GPERett syndrome in patients aged 2 years and older
Species
RatDog
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and dog
“The toxicity of trofinetide was tested in Sprague Dawley rat (4- and 26-week) and beagle dog (39-week); trofinetide was administered by oral gavage.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Why that species
Not stated in public reviews

The reviews list the species but not why. For small molecules, ICH M3(R2) expects one rodent and one non-rodent species, chosen with in vitro metabolism, protein binding and exposure data compared with human.

“In vitro metabolic and plasma protein binding data for animals and humans and systemic exposure data (ICH S3A, Ref. 7) in the species used for repeated-dose toxicity studies generally should be evaluated before initiating human clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedICH 2009: ICH M3(R2): Guidance on Nonclinical Safety Studies for the Conduct…, p. 11Source ↗

Pre-IND readiness checklist →

Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; the clinical compound was tested
“The toxicity of trofinetide was tested in Sprague Dawley rat (4- and 26-week) and beagle dog (39-week); trofinetide was administered by oral gavage.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 (39-week dog)
“The toxicity of trofinetide was tested in Sprague Dawley rat (4- and 26-week) and beagle dog (39-week); trofinetide was administered by oral gavage.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
26-week juvenile rat and 39-week juvenile dog oral gavage studies
“The 26- and 39-week studies were conducted in juvenile animals; dosing was initiated at 2 weeks (postnatal days 13-14) and 5- 6 months of age, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Route in tox
Oral (gavage)
“The toxicity of trofinetide was tested in Sprague Dawley rat (4- and 26-week) and beagle dog (39-week); trofinetide was administered by oral gavage.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Negative in Ames, in vitro CHO chromosomal aberration and in vivo mouse micronucleus assays
“Trofinetide was negative in in vitro (bacterial reverse mutation, chromosomal aberration in Chinese hamster ovary cells) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted; mouse and rat studies are postmarketing requirements
“The nonclinical data submitted to the NDA support approval of trofinetide for the proposed indication, with appropriate labeling and post-marketing requirements for carcinogenicity studies in mouse and rat.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat and rabbit EFD: no adverse embryofetal effects
“Embryofetal development studies were conducted in rat and rabbit. Trofinetide was administered orally during the period of organogenesis at doses of 0, 150, 450, and 1000 mg/kg BID (0, 300, 900, and 2000 mg/kg/day) to rats and at doses of 0, 75, 150, and 300 mg/kg BID (0, 150, 300, and 600 mg/kg/day) to rabbits. No adverse effects on embryofetal development were observed in either species.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
IV studies only: no rat CNS or respiratory effects; dog QTcV prolonged 19-33 ms at ≥400 mg/kg; hERG IC50 ≥20 mM
“In dogs, IV infusion of trofinetide (800 mg/kg) had no effects on heart rate or arterial blood pressure; however, the QTcV interval was slightly prolonged by 19 to 33 ms at ≥ 400 mg/kg. The IC50 value of trofinetide on hERG currents was estimated at ≥ 20 mM.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
Why it's blank

The public FDA and EMA reviews of Daybue don't say how the first human dose was chosen. That rationale is in the IND, which is confidential, so it is missing for most approved products.

How it's usually set for small molecules outside oncology

Find the highest dose with no adverse effects (NOAEL) in each animal species, convert it to a human equivalent dose, usually by body surface area, pick the most appropriate species, then divide by a safety factor (default 10) to get the maximum recommended starting dose.

“In general, one should consider using a safety factor of at least 10. The MRSD should be obtained by dividing the HED by the safety factor.”
✓ VerifiedFDA 2005: Estimating the Maximum Safe Starting Dose in Initial Clinical…, p. 7Source ↗
This product's starting point

NOAEL / key findings: Few findings; NOAELs 2000 mg/kg/day juvenile rat, 1000 (male) and 300 (female) mg/kg/day dog (uterine weight, estrus) (FDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9)

Full method, every step sourced →

NOAEL / key findings
Few findings; NOAELs 2000 mg/kg/day juvenile rat, 1000 (male) and 300 (female) mg/kg/day dog (uterine weight, estrus)
“These data resulted in NOAELs of 2000 mg/kg/day (1000 mg/kg BID) in juvenile rats, 1000 mg/kg/day (500 mg/kg BID) in M dogs, and 300 mg/kg/day (150 mg/kg BID) in F dogs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Not reported in the public reviews. Reviewers summarise selectively, so this usually means it wasn't discussed publicly, not that it wasn't studied.
Biodistribution & persistence
Widespread tissue distribution in rat, highest in GI wall, kidney and liver
“Following administration of a single oral dose of 14C-trofinetide (200 mg/kg) to male Sprague Dawley rats, tissue distribution of radioactivity was widespread, with the highest concentrations in gastrointestinal tissue (small and large intestine wall), kidney, and liver;”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Limited exposure margins: soft feces at the high dose, with animal exposures below human exposure
“The only notable finding was an increase in watery or soft feces at the highest dose tested, which was associated with plasma exposures (AUC) less than those in pediatric and adult patients at the recommended doses.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Similar precedents