Request an invite
Atlas/Cell therapy/Study length

How long were the pivotal tox studies for approved cell therapies?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 27 approved cell therapies. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
Median longest pivotal study: 26 weeks (range 2–53).
Up to 4 weeks2/27
5–13 weeks3/27
14–26 weeks7/27
Over 26 weeks9/27
No in vivo tox study4/27
Not stated2/27
0413263952 wk

Precedent by precedent

27 approved cell therapies, with the reviewers' own words.

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
Longest pivotal study
53 weeks
“the observation period of the single dose studies described above were up to 12 weeks in mice, 14 weeks in sheep and 53 weeks in goats”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Non-GLP single-dose studies: mouse (12 wk), sheep (14 wk), goat (53 wk), local implantation
“These studies were non-GLP which is not in conformity with the pharmaceutical standards.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 10Source ↗

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
Longest pivotal study
53 weeks
“A definitive 53-week study was conducted in 27 horses (Study # GENZ-09-4417)”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Combined GLP-type pharm/tox 53-week equine study (27 horses, stifle trochlear defect implant); 12- and 24-week rabbit studies
“A definitive 53-week study was conducted in 27 horses (Study # GENZ-09-4417) to evaluate the safety and the activity of MACI”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Longest pivotal study
52 weeks
“Grafts were harvested at 7, 14, 28, 56, 100, 180, 232, and 365 days after grafting.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 17Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP repeat-dose tox; GLP ISO-10993 biocompatibility tests (systemic, subchronic subcutaneous in rabbits) and non-GLP nude mouse graft studies
“The potential toxicity of Apligraf® was evaluated via studies that reflect the initial medical device framework (i.e., biocompatibility testing in conformance to ISO-10993 standards).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“thymopoiesis was observed at the pre-specified time points (1 and 9 months”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; pharmacology only (in vitro thymus organ culture, nude rat transplants to 9 months)
“no nonclinical toxicology studies with RVT-802 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“The long term effects of the Spherox product cannot be fully evaluated from the in vivo data as the GLP compliant sheep study of 9 months duration failed due to loss of Spherox implants.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP Merino sheep 6/9-month implantation (failed, implant lost); GLP NSG mouse 6-month biodistribution/tumourigenicity; minipig 2-month
“study Merino sheep was designed to evaluate local and systemic toxicity during 6 months of implantation of autologous spheroids in a femoral condyle defect.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
31 weeks
“An in vivo study was conducted to evaluate toxicity and BD in tumor-bearing mice receiving i.v. injection of CTL019 at 1, 5, and 20x106 cells/mouse and observed up to Day 217 post-injection (p.i.) with three terminal sacrifices.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP tox; non-GLP biotoxicity/BD study in B-ALL tumor-bearing immunodeficient mice, single IV, to Day 217
“The nonclinical toxicology studies were not conducted in compliance with Good Laboratory Practice (GLP), because there was no independent Quality Assurance (QA) audit of integral study parts and raw data storage was not applied in compliance with GLP regulations.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
30 weeks
“lack of normal splenic B cells was observed 63 days, 143 days, and 209 days (the last time point examined) after anti-murine CD19 CAR T-cell infusion”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; no GLP tox. Safety assessed in surrogate syngeneic mouse pharmacology model plus vector integration site analysis
“Therefore, no GLP-compliant formal toxicology studies were performed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
30 weeks
“Some mice were followed out to Day 209. The publication reported no overt toxicity, but normal B cells were decreased (i.e., B cell aplasia).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; published surrogate CAR-T study in lymphodepleted syngeneic tumor-bearing mice (Kochenderfer 2010)
“No toxicology studies with KTE-C19 were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
Longest pivotal study
28 weeks
“were not associated with any adverse histopathological changes to 28 weeks after administration of the cells.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP product tox; non-GLP NSG mouse transplant studies (up to 28 wk) and non-GLP single-dose UM171 rat and cynomolgus studies
“Three male cynomolgus monkey were dosed with three consecutive IV doses (1 week apart) of 2.3, 23 and 230 µg/kg.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“Animals were euthanised at 2 or 26 weeks after the final infusion.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP athymic rat: 2 doses 2 weeks apart, perianal (up to 12/24 wk post-dose) and IV (26 wk); 26-wk biodistribution
“Two repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with human eASC in male and female athymic nude rats (Crl:NIH-Foxn1rnu) via the perianal route”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“There was no evidence of systemic exposure to rhCNTF after ITV implantation of NT-501 in minipigs for up to 6 months or in rabbits for up to 9 months.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Non-GLP 12-week rabbit ocular tox/PK; 3-part minipig/pig long-term ITV implant study to 6 months; unencapsulated-cell device failure study in minipigs
“The effect of long-term ITV implantation of NT-501 was evaluated in a 3-part toxicology study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“A six-month GLP study in baboons was performed using labeled allogeneic baboon ceMSC to evaluate the safety and immunogenicity following IV administration of 5x106 cells/kg on Day 1”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP rat single-dose IV (x2), 90-day rat repeat-dose IV (13 doses), 6-month baboon single IV; GLP rat pulmonary and pig cardiac safety pharm
“In a GLP repeat dose toxicity study, rats received 2x106 , 10x106 or 20x106 rat ceMSC/kg administered in a 5mL/kg dosing volume by tail vein injection over a two-minute period”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
Longest pivotal study
20 weeks
“Two of 5 mice in each group had complete tumour regression and survived > 5 months after tabelecleucel treatment.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP tox; published single-dose SCID mouse efficacy/homing studies (IP, IV 10^7 cells) and in vitro co-culture EBV transmission assay
“Studies conducted in immunodeficient animal models for EBV+ PTLD revealed no overt signs of toxicity (e.g. loss of activity or weight loss) associated with a single dose of tabelecleucel.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
Longest pivotal study
20 weeks
“no apparent local or systemic toxicity was observed out to 140 days following topical application of STRATAGRAFT® to immunodeficient mice with an existing wound.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 10Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Non-GLP 8+ week subchronic study NCREP.001 in 26 nude mice, single topical application, sacrificed to 140 days; retrospective tumorigenicity analyses to 421 days
“Minimum Eight Week Transdermal Subchronic Toxicity Study with STRATAGRAFT® Skin Tissue in Nude Mice”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
14 weeks
“periods (0-100 days), in contrast with the control group (died by day 10-11).”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; traditional single/repeat-dose, genotox, carcinogenicity, DART and local tolerance studies not conducted
“In this light, traditional toxicity, including single and repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity, and local tolerance studies were deemed of negligible utility and thus were not conducted.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 36Source ↗

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
14 weeks
“Scheduled Sacrifice Time Points Day 98”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP tox; non-GLP cynomolgus pilot (n=2, single IV, 30 days) plus NCG mouse xenograft studies
“The applicant performed one in vivo non-GLP toxicology pilot study in Cynomolgus monkeys using autologous CAR-T cells manufactured with the second/ third generation hybrid LV developed by Legend.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
12 weeks
“Day 85 = in-life completed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None GLP; non-GLP NSG mouse PK/PD/biodistribution/general safety study (B4-15-090, single IV, 29 days)
“No single or repeat-dose toxicity studies were conducted with ide-cel as traditional animal studies employing common toxicology study designs are not appropriate for ide-cel”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 42Source ↗

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
Longest pivotal study
12 weeks
“Scheduled Sacrifice Time Points Day 1, Week 4, and Week 12 post-transplantation”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
One GLP single-dose IV toxicity/biodistribution study in irradiated NOD/SCID mice, sacrifices Day 1, Week 4, Week 12
“The following toxicology study was conducted to evaluate the safety of the test article following administration in the NOD/SCID mouse.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
Longest pivotal study
6 weeks
“On day 42, 4 rats from the control (unimmunised)”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 27Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; non-GLP proof-of-concept rat prostatitis and mouse tumor-challenge studies only (rat observation to day 42)
“All pharmacological experiments were proof of concept studies that were non-GLP compliant.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
Longest pivotal study
3 weeks
“Xenogenic GvHD incidence was monitored in all treated mice at week 1, 2, and 3 post-infusion”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 19Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No GLP tox; two integrated PD/PK/tox NOD/SCID GvHD mouse studies (20x10^6 cells/mouse), up to ~3 weeks
“Single dose toxicity has been assessed in the immunodeficient animal models in the pharmacodynamic studies.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
Longest pivotal study
2 weeks
“CAR T cells were present in peripheral blood as well as bone marrow two weeks post-injection.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 38Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo GLP tox; GLP human tissue cross-reactivity (42 tissues); non-GLP NALM-6 NSG xenograft, single IV dose, Day 16
“The GLP tissue cross-reactivity study was conducted to determine potential binding of 1 or 3 μg/mL CAT19 to 42 normal human tissues and blood smears.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
Longest pivotal study
0 (no in vivo tox study)
“No toxicology studies were conducted for AMTAGVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; five published pharmacology papers (TIL prognosis, expansion, cytotoxicity, murine tumor models) submitted in Module 4
“No nonclinical pharmacology studies were performed for AMTAGVI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
Longest pivotal study
0 (no in vivo tox study)
“in vivo studies in a homologous animal model were considered by the CAT not to be necessary”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 20Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo tox; in vitro karyotype, growth factor dependence and soft agar assays
“in order to investigate the proliferative capacity of the 3T3-J2 feeder cells, the applicant performed in vitro karyotype analysis and soft agar assays.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
Longest pivotal study
0 (no in vivo tox study)
“No toxicology studies with LANTIDRA were conducted.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
None; publications on intraportal islet allograft safety (e.g., diabetic mouse liver morphology study) cited instead
“The applicant provided publications assessing the overall safety of islet allografts following intraportal transplantation in Module 4 of the BLA.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 19Source ↗

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
Longest pivotal study
0 (no in vivo tox study)
“Standard in vivo single-dose or repeat-dose toxicity studies were not conducted with afamitresgene autoleucel due to the lack of appropriate animal models for testing of human TCR engineered T-cells.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
No in vivo tox; in vitro X-scan/MAGE-family peptide cross-reactivity, alloreactivity, normal/iPSC cell co-culture; murine xenograft efficacy
“A comprehensive analysis of cross-reactivity was performed using a peptide library screen with single amino-acid substitutions at each position of the antigenic peptide sequence (X-scan) and peptides from MAGE family member proteins.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
Longest pivotal study
Not stated in public reviews
Pivotal GLP studies
None; no GLP toxicology; reliance on ~1100 treated subjects of prior commercial use
“No preclinical studies were conducted with this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
Longest pivotal study
Not stated in public reviews
Pivotal GLP studies
No toxicology studies; xenogeneic GVHD POC study OBS-24-001 (18 studies, sublethally irradiated immunodeficient mice, human Tcons +/- Tregs)
“No toxicology studies were conducted for TREGZI.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗