Request an invite
Atlas/Cell therapy/First dose

How was the first-in-human dose set for approved cell therapies?

From the FDA and EMA reviews of all 27 approved cell therapies. Each answer links to the regulator's own sentence.

Check my plan against these
Short answer
0 of 27 public reviews say how the first human dose was set; 5 more say it partly.
Partly stated5/27
Not stated publicly22/27

Precedent by precedent

27 approved cell therapies, with the reviewers' own words.

Abecma

idecabtagene vicleucel · BCMA CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not explicitly stated; mouse MED 6.16x10^5 CAR+ cells corresponds to HED 2.05x10^8 CAR+ T cells (100 kg)
“expression which represents the human equivalent dose (HED) of 2.05 x 108 CAR+ T cells for a 100-kg human.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no bb2121-related adverse findings in mouse studies
“No bb2121-related adverse findings were reported in these studies.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

ChondroCelect

characterised viable autologous cartilage cells · Autologous chondrocytes
First-in-human starting dose
Clinical dose 0.8-1 x10^6 cells/cm2 based on animal studies, literature and ACI experience (not a formal FIH calculation)
“The dose selection was based on a combination of animal studies conducted by TiGenix, published literature and experience in humans with ACI.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 13Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no systemic toxicity; synovitis (~70% at 10 wk) and cell penetration into subchondral bone
“No effects on body systems or systemic toxicity was seen in the mice, sheep or goats”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 12Source ↗

Lantidra

donislecel · Allogeneic pancreatic islets
First-in-human starting dose
No nonclinical basis; target 10,000 EIN/kg from prior Edmonton Protocol clinical experience
“In both UIH-001 & UIH-002 studies a target islet dose of 10,000 EIN/kg was proposed based on the findings of previous experience with Edmonton Protocol for allogeneic islet transplantation.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 14Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; literature mouse intraportal allografts: emboli, thrombosis, focal liver necrosis without immunosuppression
“These findings were observed on Day 1, progressed to necrotic regions surrounded by multifocal leucocyte infiltrates by Day 3, with progressive mononuclear leukocyte infiltration of the colonized islets (from peri-islet to intra-islet), leading to islet destruction by Days 9-14.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 21Source ↗

Ryoncil

remestemcel-L · Allogeneic BM-MSC
First-in-human starting dose
No formal dose-finding; 2x10^6 cells/kg clinical dose from earlier clinical/expanded access experience, not nonclinically derived
“No formal pharmacokinetic, clinical dose finding, or dose regimen optimization studies have been performed during the development of RYONCIL for treatment of aGvHD in pediatrics.”
✓ VerifiedFDA summary basis for approval, p. 13Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; rat mortality at >=10-15x10^6 cells/kg with pulmonary thrombi; baboon 5x10^6 cells/kg no toxicity
“Dose levels of 15x106 cells/kg and higher resulted in increased mortality shortly after dosing, associated with shallowed breathing, impaired righting reflex, and pale discolored skin.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Tregzi

allogeneic Treg immunotherapy with HSPC and T cells (Orca-T) · Allogeneic Treg + HSPC + Tcon
First-in-human starting dose
No nonclinical basis; Phase 1/2 clinical safety data with a similar product supported the Phase 1b dose levels
“This omission is acceptable, as the applicant provided safety data from a Phase 1/2 clinical study with a similar clinical product to support initiation of the Phase 1b study”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 36Source ↗
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no tox studies; in mice Tcons alone caused dose-dependent GVHD with T-cell infiltration of liver and intestine, attenuated by Tregs
“Histopathological examination revealed dose-dependent T cell infiltration in hepatic periportal regions and parenchyma, thickening of intestinal lamina propria, and atrophy of subcutaneous fat and hair follicles”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 35Source ↗

Alofisel

darvadstrocel · Allogeneic adipose MSC
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Perianal doses up to 2.5x10^6 cells/rat well tolerated; IV 10x10^6 cells caused fatal pulmonary embolism
“Taken together, two administrations of eASC two weeks apart at doses up to 2.5 x 106 cells were well tolerated in athymic nude rats when administered via the perianal route.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗

Amtagvi

lifileucel · TIL therapy
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no toxicology studies; no target-organ findings available
“No toxicology studies were conducted for AMTAGVI. Given the characteristics and biological activity of AMTAGVI, this omission is acceptable.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 13Source ↗

Aucatzyl

obecabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL (no tox studies); tissue cross-reactivity limited to CD19+ B cells in lymphoid tissues, no off-target binding
“The data indicate that human tissue cross reactivity with the CAT19 CAR binding domain was consistent with the expected profile of CD19 expression on B lymphocytes.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 11Source ↗

Breyanzi

lisocabtagene maraleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; long-term safety in animals limited; tissue cross-reactivity showed off-target recognition of low concern
“Animal studies to assess the long-term safety of JCAR017 were limited because the JCAR017 does not survive in immunocompetent rodents and induces graft-versus-host disease in immunocompromised mice.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Carvykti

ciltacabtagene autoleucel · BCMA CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; NHP 5 and 40x10^6 cells/kg: no adverse effects, transient mild blood count decreases
“There were no test article-related adverse effects on survival, clinical signs, body weights or body temperatures.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 26Source ↗

Ebvallo

tabelecleucel · EBV-specific allogeneic T cells
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no overt toxicity (activity loss, weight loss) after single dose in immunodeficient mice
“Studies conducted in immunodeficient animal models for EBV+ PTLD revealed no overt signs of toxicity (e.g. loss of activity or weight loss) associated with a single dose of tabelecleucel.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗

Encelto

revakinagene taroretcel · CNTF (encapsulated RPE cell implant)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL set for device; minimal lens, vitreous and ocular inflammation; no systemic findings. rhCNTF DART NOAELs used for margins of exposure
“ITV implantation of NT-501 did not cause any effects on systemic clinical signs, gross pathology, or histopathology of non-ocular organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Gintuit

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and fibroblasts in bovine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; biocompatibility testing showed no findings of significant biological concern
“This biocompatibility testing paradigm did not reveal any findings of significant biological concern.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 49Source ↗

Holoclar

autologous corneal epithelial cells containing limbal stem cells · Autologous limbal stem cells
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no animal tox. In vitro: no chromosomal aberrations, soft agar negative
“No evidence of chromosomal aberrations or minor chromosomal damage was detected”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 18Source ↗

Kymriah

tisagenlecleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; mice up to 20x10^6 cells: no systemic toxicity or abnormal proliferation vs mock T cells; xGvHD
“There was no histologic evidence of systemic toxicity associated with CTL019 versus mock T cells. No abnormal cell growth was detected by clinical pathology or by PCR at any time point in any animal.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Laviv

azficel-T · Autologous fibroblasts
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Not stated in public reviews

MACI

autologous cultured chondrocytes on porcine collagen membrane · Autologous chondrocytes
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no significant safety signals; mild transient inflammation, mild early lameness in horses recovered by 53 weeks
“There were no significant safety signals identified in the animals.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗

Omisirge

omidubicel · Expanded cord blood HPC
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; no test article-related adverse effects at up to 10x10^6 CF + 5x10^6 NF cells/mouse; deaths attributed to irradiation
“No test article-related adverse effects were observed in body weights, food consumption, clinical pathology, or histopathology assessments.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 28Source ↗

Provenge

sipuleucel-T · PAP-GM-CSF (autologous APC)
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; cell dose not limited by toxicity; highest feasible dose used in animal studies; no obvious adverse effects in mice
“It was agreed that the cell dose is apparently not limited by toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 34Source ↗

Rethymic

allogeneic processed thymus tissue · Allogeneic thymus tissue
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no toxicology studies; dose range from clinical use
“The recommended dose range is to 22,000 mm2”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Spherox

spheroids of autologous matrix-associated chondrocytes · Autologous chondrocyte spheroids
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no treatment-related adverse effects or signs of general/local toxicity in any study
“There were no indications of treatment related adverse effects and the implant was well tolerated.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗

StrataGraft

allogeneic cultured keratinocytes and dermal fibroblasts in murine collagen · Allogeneic keratinocytes + fibroblasts
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; no local or systemic toxicity to 140 days; wound site showed normal healing
“No test article-related findings were observed in the examined tissues.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 9Source ↗

Tecartus

brexucabtagene autoleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; surrogate mice showed prolonged B-cell aplasia (on-target/off-tumour) without overt toxicity
“Notably, this complete and prolonged absence of B cells was not accompanied by any evidence of overt toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 33Source ↗

Tecelra

afamitresgene autoleucel · MAGE-A4 TCR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; in vitro alloreactivity against HLA-A*02:05 (contraindication); cross-reactivity to MAGE-A8/MAGE-B2 (cancer/germline-restricted)
“An alloreactivity screen against a panel of cells expressing a range of HLA alleles indicated in vitro alloreactivity against HLA-A*02:05. Therefore, afamitresgene autoleucel is contraindicated for adults who are heterozygous or homozygous for HLA-A*02:05P.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 39Source ↗

Yescarta

axicabtagene ciloleucel · CD19 CAR-T
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; surrogate mice: no overt toxicity, persistent on-target B-cell aplasia to Day 209
“B cell aplasia was observed, but no overt toxicity was exhibited (Experiment E).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 16Source ↗

Zalmoxis

allogeneic T cells modified with HSV-TK / dLNGFR (nalotimagene carmaleucel) · HSV-TK suicide-gene T cells
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL; GvHD occurred in mice but with lower incidence/severity than unmanipulated PBL; limited safety assessment
“Non clinical safety data obtained in two different immunedeficient animal models for Graft Versus Host disease did not indicate special hazards for humans, but allowed only a very limited safety assessment.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗

Zemcelpro

dorocubicel · UM171-expanded cord blood CD34+
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No toxicity from UM171 at HED 8,000-20,000x human exposure (8 ng/kg); no treatment-related histopathology in NSG mice
“Intravenous administration at doses 8,000-20,000 times higher than the estimated human exposure to UM171 demonstrated no toxicity in rats (single-dose study) or cynomolgus monkeys”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 45Source ↗