Request an invite

Wainua

eplontersen
oligonucleotideTTR (ASO)20-mer 2'-MOE gapmer ASO conjugated to GalNAc3 (SC)Polyneuropathy of hereditary transthyretin amyloidosis (hATTR-PN)
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Conducted Conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Mouse and cynomolgus monkey (monkey the pharmacologically relevant species)
“Eplontersen is pharmacologically active in monkey but not mouse.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 49Source ↗
Why that species
Target sequence 100% complementary to human and monkey TTR mRNA; 8 mismatches in rodents
“The target sequence of eplontersen and inotersen is 100 % complementary to human and Cynomolgus monkey TTR mRNA, whereas 8 mismatches in mice and rats preclude effective hybridisation and, hence, pharmacological activity in these animals.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 26Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
Yes: mouse-specific GalNAc ASO ION-1184986 in 26-week mouse and fertility/EFD studies
“A parallel group administered 10 mg/kg SC ION-1184986, the mouse-specific ASO, showed reduction of ~82% in hepatic TTR mRNA, compared to controls; no adverse effects were observed.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“In a 39-week study in cynomolgus monkeys, eplontersen (0, 5, 10, or 25 mg/kg SC Q4W) resulted in an increase in complement Bb in HDM, basophilic granules in liver Kupffer cells and kidney tubular cells at the HD, and granular macrophages in the lymph nodes at all doses.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP SC studies: mouse 13 and 26 weeks; cynomolgus monkey 13 weeks and 9 months (39 weeks)
“The nonclinical studies of eplontersen submitted to the NDA included general toxicology studies of up to 26 weeks (mouse) and 9 months (monkey) in duration”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 49Source ↗
Route in tox
Subcutaneous (weekly, biweekly, monthly regimens)
“The toxicity of eplontersen was investigated with different s.c. administration regimen (weekly, biweekly, monthly) for up to 26 weeks in mice, 14 weeks in rats and up to 39 weeks in monkeys.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 29Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Eplontersen was negative in adequately conducted in vitro (Ames, chromosomal aberration) and in vivo (mouse bone marrow micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 129Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
26-week Tg.rasH2 mouse study (PMR at FDA approval); no increase in neoplasms
“In a 26-week carcinogenicity study in male and female Tg.rasH2 mice, subcutaneous administration of eplontersen (0, 250, 500, or 1500 mg/kg) monthly for 26 weeks resulted in no increase in neoplasms.”
✓ VerifiedUS prescribing informationSource ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Combined fertility/EFD study in mouse (with surrogate); no adverse effects; no 2nd species, PPND or juvenile
“Potential effect of eplontersen on embryo-foetal development in a second species, pre- and post-natal development or juvenile toxicity were not investigated.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 31Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Single ascending-dose SC study in monkeys (CNS, CV, respiratory) plus in vitro hERG; no effects
“Safety pharmacology studies did not indicate any adverse effects on CNS, cardiovascular, or respiratory endpoints in male cynomolgus monkeys administered a single ascending dose of eplontersen of up to 24 mg/kg by SC injection.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 127Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Monkey NOAEL 25 mg/kg Q4W (39 wk; 134x AUC margin); basophilic granules liver/kidney/lymph nodes; one monkey thrombocytopenia
“Based on plasma exposure, the NOAEL in monkey will provide safety margins of 134 (AUC0-24h) and 112 (Cmax) compared to the proposed human dose of 45 mg.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 50Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Transient complement Bb increases; non-neutralising ADAs in chronic monkey study; minimal cytokine changes
“Thus, these ADAs represent binding antibodies without neutralising capacity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 32Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Distributes mainly to liver and kidney; undetectable in brain and spinal cord (rat)
“In SD rats administered [3H]ASO-eplontersen, radioactivity levels peaked in plasma at 0.5 h postdose, then distributed into tissues, primarily liver and kidney, with the highest levels observed in the liver at 8 h and kidney at 2 days; radioactivity was undetectable in brain and spinal cord.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 128Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
ASO class risks: thrombocytopenia, glomerulonephritis, renal/liver effects (from inotersen); vitamin A deficiency from MoA
“Potential safety concerns for eplontersen based on the route of administration and therapeutic class (including information from the previously approved hATTR drug inotersen) were thrombocytopenia, glomerulonephritis, renal impairment, abnormal liver function, injection site reactions, flu-like symptoms, central nervous system disorders, hemorrhages, and coagulation abnormalities.”
✓ VerifiedFDA integrated review, p. 50Source ↗

Similar precedents