Request an invite

Trodelvy

sacituzumab govitecan
ADCTrop-2Humanized anti-Trop-2 IgG1 (hRS7)-SN-38 conjugate, CL2A linker, DAR 7-8Metastatic TNBC and HR+/HER2- breast cancer after prior therapy
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
13 wk
Genotox
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Cynomolgus monkey only (mouse for target-independent toxicity only)
“Cynomolgus monkeys were identified as the only relevant toxicity species due to cross-reactivity of the target, Trop-2 with the hRS7antibody, the binding moiety of sacituzumab govitecan.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 23Source ↗
Why that species
hRS7 binds human and monkey Trop-2 comparably; no binding to mouse or rat Trop-2 despite ~80% homology
“Despite approx. 80% sequence homology at the protein level between human and rodent Trop-2, hRS7 did not bind to mouse and rat Trop-2.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 25Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; clinical ADC tested in monkey; no separate SN-38 general tox (irinotecan literature)
“General toxicity studies with the toxin moiety SN-38 were not conducted. This is acceptable, in line with ICH S9 and taking into account published literature on the toxicity of irinotecan and its active metabolite SN-38.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
13 weeks
“In a 13-week toxicity study, monkeys were given sacituzumab govitecan at doses of 12.5, 25, and 50 mg/kg once weekly via a 1-hour infusion for 2 weeks of a 3-week cycle for 4 treatment cycles.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP monkey 2-dose acute study (60, 120 mg/kg) and 13-week monkey study (days 1, 8 q21d x4 cycles, 6-week recovery), IV
“In a 13-week toxicity study, monkeys were given sacituzumab govitecan at doses of 12.5, 25, and 50 mg/kg once weekly via a 1-hour infusion for 2 weeks of a 3-week cycle for 4 treatment cycles.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗
Route in tox
IV (1-hour infusion, clinical route); IP in non-GLP mouse studies
“Dose and frequency of dosing: 0, 60, & 120 mg/kg; 2 doses three days apart (days 1 and 4) Route of administration: IV (1-hr)”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 184Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted with ADC; SN-38 Ames negative, in vitro micronucleus positive (clastogenic)
“SN-38 was negative for mutagenicity in a bacterial reverse mutation (Ames) test but was clastogenic in the in vitro mammalian cell micronucleus test.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (advanced cancer, ICH S9)
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted or warranted to support this NDA, as the proposed indication was for advanced cancer.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 177Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (ICH S9); SN-38 genotoxic so embryo-fetal toxicity expected; female repro organ findings in monkey
“No embryo-fetal developmental toxicology studies were conducted or warranted to support this BLA submission, based on ICH S9.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Incorporated into repeat-dose monkey studies; no CNS, CV or respiratory findings; no hERG
“Safety pharmacology endpoints were assessed in the repeat-dose toxicity studies in monkeys. There were no sacituzumab govitecan-related findings on the central nervous, cardiovascular, or respiratory systems.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Acute study HNSTD 60 mg/kg (no NOAEL); 13-week NOAEL/HNSTD 50 mg/kg; bone marrow, lymphoid, GI, liver, skin, female reproductive organs
“In the absence of a NOAEL, the HNSTD in this study was 60 mg/kg/dose.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 30Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
ADA in all monkeys at all doses in 13-week study, reducing low-dose exposure; reduced thymic/lymphoid cellularity
“Anti-drug antibodies were detected in all animals at all doses tested in the chronic toxicity study.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 176Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Mouse xenograft: radiolabeled ADC to tumour plus liver, spleen, kidney, lung; SN-38 released in serum (t1/2 ~1-2 days); free SN-38 ~2.3% of total
“In addition to tumour, both hRS7 and sacituzumab govitecan distributed to normal tissues, primarily to liver, spleen, kidney and lungs among the normal tissues analysed.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
SN-38 payload myelosuppression and GI toxicity (UGT1A1-dependent), Trop-2-dependent skin toxicity; hydrolysable linker releases payload
“Findings in the gastrointestinal tract and reductions in white blood cells are known toxicities of irinotecan-derived SN-38. Findings in skin may represent Trop-2-dependent toxicity.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 35Source ↗

Similar precedents