Request an invite

Besponsa

inotuzumab ozogamicin
ADCCD22Humanized anti-CD22 IgG4 conjugated to calicheamicin derivative (DAR ~6)Relapsed/refractory CD22-positive B-cell precursor ALL
Species
MonkeyRat
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Conducted Conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Rat and cynomolgus monkey (neither cross-reactive; target-independent toxicity only)
“The Applicant conducted repeat-dose toxicity studies of up to 6 months duration in rats and cynomolgus monkeys to investigate the chronic toxicity of inotuzumab ozogamicin;”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Why that species
No relevant species: G544 does not bind mouse, rat, rabbit or monkey B cells; tox limited to payload-driven, target-independent effects
“G544 did not bind B cells from mouse, rat, rabbit, or cynomolgus monkey whole blood, or granulocytes, MONO, or T cells from any species evaluated, including humans.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; clinical ADC in non-binding species, plus non-binding calicheamicin ADC (PF-06647259) investigative monkey study
“This study evaluated the target-independent toxicities of antibody-calicheamicin conjugates using a humanized nonbinding IgG1 monoclonal antibody conjugated to calicheamicin via the acid-labile AcBut linker (PF-06647259).”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 53Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“The Applicant conducted repeat-dose toxicity studies of up to 6 months duration in rats and cynomolgus monkeys to investigate the chronic toxicity of inotuzumab ozogamicin;”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
GLP 4-week and 26-week once-weekly IV studies in rats and cynomolgus monkeys, with 4-week recovery
“In the 6-month cynomolgus monkey study, inotuzumab ozogamicin was administered IV at doses of 0.5, 1.5, or 5 μg/kg once weekly.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗
Route in tox
IV (bolus), consistent with clinical route
“the studies were conducted using the intravenous (IV) route, consistent with the intended clinical route of administration.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted: calicheamicin positive in Ames and in vitro micronucleus; ADC clastogenic in mouse micronucleus
“Inotuzumab ozogamicin was clastogenic in mice at doses ≥28 µg/kg (approximately 1.1 mg/m2 of the ADC), consistent with the known DNA-reactive activity of the calicheamicin payload.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (ICH S9); liver adenomas and preneoplastic changes in 6-month rat study
“No carcinogenicity studies were conducted or required to support a marketing application for the current indication.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 36Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Rat fertility and rat/rabbit EFD conducted: rat embryo-fetal toxicity (resorptions, low fetal weight); no PPND (ICH S9)
“Embryo-fetal development studies were conducted in rabbits and rats.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Dedicated studies: CV in cynomolgus (transient BP effect), CNS and respiratory in rats
“A cardiovascular (CV) safety pharmacology study with inotuzumab ozogamicin in cynomolgus monkeys identified a small and transient effect on arterial blood pressure; the toxicological significance of this finding is unclear.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL in rat or monkey chronic studies; liver (sinusoidal injury), hematolymphoid, reproductive organs; monkey glomerulonephritis death at 5 ug/kg
“Taken together, the primary inotuzumab ozogamicin target organs identified by the chronic toxicity studies were the liver, hematolymphopoietic tissues, and the male and female reproductive organs.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 34Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Low ADA incidence in rats (10-13%); no ADA detected in monkeys
“In the 4- and 26-week repeat-dose toxicity studies in monkeys, ADA was not detected in any animals after administration of inotuzumab ozogamicin or the G544 antibody.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 39Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Limited tissue distribution in rat (tissue:plasma <=0.6; liver highest), minimal brain penetration, longer tissue retention
“Distribution of [3H]inotuzumab ozogamicin radioequivalents into tissues was limited, with tissue-to-plasma AUCinf ratios ≤0.6 for all tissues evaluated.”
✓ VerifiedEMA assessment report, p. 28Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Calicheamicin payload: hepatic sinusoidal endothelial injury (VOD precursor), thrombocytopenia, genotoxicity, reproductive toxicity
“consistent with microvascular liver injury and were considered to represent the early stages of veno-occlusive disease that has been reported in clinical trials.”
✓ VerifiedFDA multi-discipline review, p. 35Source ↗

Similar precedents