Request an invite

Viltepso

viltolarsen
oligonucleotideDMD exon 53 (PMO)21-mer phosphorodiamidate morpholino oligomer (PMO), exon 53 skipping, IVDMD amenable to exon 53 skipping
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
39 wk
Genotox
Conducted Conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Partial / alternative Partial / alternative
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
Male CD-1 mouse and male cynomolgus monkey (plus juvenile male mouse)
“Repeat-dose studies in adult male CD1 mice, and single and repeat-dose studies in adult male cynomolgus monkeys were conducted to evaluate the general toxicology of vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗
Why that species
Exon 53 skipping shown in monkey; not pharmacologically active in rodents (mouse used for general/juvenile tox)
“In vivo assessment of exon 53 skipping was included in the 12- and 39-week toxicity studies in monkey; viltolarsen is not pharmacologically active in rodents.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate in tox; mouse-specific PMO (NDK-73) used only for mdx52 proof-of-concept
“In male mdx52 mice, IV administration of a mouse surrogate (NDK-73) as well as an additional morpholine oligonucleotide (NDK-33), which targets the Exon 53 3’ end of the mouse dystrophin gene”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 46Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
39 weeks
“Viltolarsen was administered by IV injection for 12 weeks (+4-week recovery) and 39 weeks (+8-week recovery) at doses of 0, 60, 200, and 600 mg/kg QW and 0, 10, 60, and 360 mg/kg QW, respectively.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Pivotal GLP studies
Weekly IV: male mouse 13 and 26 weeks; male monkey 12 and 39 weeks; juvenile male mouse PND 7-70
“The pivotal IV toxicity studies were conducted in male CD-1 mouse (13 and 26 weeks) and male cynomolgus monkey (12 and 39 weeks).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Route in tox
IV weekly (clinical route); juvenile mouse SC on PND 7 then IV; single IM in monkey
“In the pivotal study, viltolarsen (0, 15, 60, 240, and 1200 mg/kg) was administered weekly by SC injection on PND 7 and by IV injection on PNDs 14 through 70.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Conducted; negative (Ames, CHL chromosomal aberration, mouse micronucleus)
“Viltolarsen was negative in a standard battery of in vitro (Ames, chromosomal aberration in CHL cells) and in vivo (mouse micronucleus) assays.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 5Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted pre-approval (agreed); rasH2 mouse and 2-year rat studies as PMRs
“Carcinogenicity studies of viltolarsen were not submitted to the NDA, as agreed to by the Division.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 6Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Male mouse fertility study only (no effects); EFD/PPND waived for male population; juvenile mouse study
“Embryofetal development and pre- and postnatal development studies were not conducted, as agreed to by the Division, because of the intended patient population, which is almost exclusively male.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 4Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Dedicated single-dose studies: rat CNS (FOB), monkey CV/respiratory, in vitro hERG; no effects
“Dedicated single dose studies in rat (CNS) and monkey (cardiovascular and respiratory) did not indicate drug effects on safety pharmacology endpoints, and there was no effect on QT prolongation in CHO cell cultures exposed to up to 3 mg/mL vitolarsen.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
NOAEL 60 mg/kg/wk IV in monkey (39-wk) and mouse (26-wk); renal tubular vacuolation/dilation; mouse deaths at 1000 mg/kg
“Based on the 39-week study, the NOAEL for IV administration of vitolarsen in male cynomolgus monkeys was 60 mg/kg (Cmax = 613.9 µg/mL; AUC0-24h = 261.1 µg*h/mL).”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
No cytokine or immunophenotype effects; transient ~2-fold C3 rise at high dose in mouse; no anti-drug antibodies
“There were no drug effects on C3 after dosing on Day 0; however, on Day 175, there was an approximate 2-fold elevation in serum C3 24 h after dosing in HDM.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Biodistribution & persistence
Radiolabel in monkey: highest in kidney cortex, low skeletal muscle levels; low protein binding
“With multiple doses (20 mg/kg/week for 8 weeks), highest levels of dose radioactivity were in kidney cortex (819 µg-Eq/g), with concentrations in skeletal muscle of 0.331- 0.479 µg-Eq/g.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
PMO renal tubular toxicity (nephrotoxicity, deaths in mouse); off-target hybridization (APCDD1) assessed in silico
“Kidney toxicity in the pivotal study, which resulted in unscheduled death of two HDM, was characterized by slight increases in urea nitrogen and creatinine, increases in kidney weight in HDM, and histologic findings of intratubular dilation and epithelial vacuolation in the distal tubule and collecting duct in MDM and HDM.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 47Source ↗

Similar precedents