Roctavian
valoctocogene roxaparvovec
Species
MonkeyMouse
Longest study
26 wk
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly
Speciesopen answer page →
Species
Mouse (CD1, Rag2-/-, hemophilia A models) and cynomolgus/rhesus monkey; all males
“As the clinical schedule foresees one unique injection of BMN 270, all non-clinical studies supporting the safety of BMN 270 are single-dose toxicity studies conducted by the IV route, in male animals, in different animal species (Rag2-/- mice, Rag2-/- x FVIII-/- mice, CD1 mice, monkeys), which is acceptable.”
Why that species
Hemophilia A (Rag2-/- x FVIII-/-) mouse model for pharmacology; no explicit species-relevance argument; males because >99% of patients male
“All animals used in the nonclinical programme to evaluate BMN 270 were males because > 99% of HA patients are male.”
Surrogate molecule
No surrogate; clinical vector tested, though one pivotal GLP mouse study used early process B material
“The first GLP toxicity study (Study BMN 270-14-030) conducted in CD1 normal male mice used a batch of BMN 270 produced according to process B, which far diverges from process D and D’ used in phase III clinical trials and commercial process.”
Study lengthopen answer page →
Longest pivotal study
26 weeks
“In single-dose toxicology studies conducted in adult male :CD1 mice with study durations up to 6 months, the IV administration of ROCTAVIAN at dose levels of 6.53 × 1013 vg/kg and higher resulted in dose-dependent adverse histopathologic findings in the heart”
Pivotal GLP studies
Two GLP single-dose IV studies in CD1 male mice (up to 26 weeks); 3-month single-dose male monkey study; germline transmission studies
“Then, two GLP single-dose studies were conducted in normal CD1 mice with observation periods of up to 26 weeks, and with doses ranging from 6E12 to 2E14 vg/kg.”
Route in tox
Single intravenous bolus/infusion
“All in vivo studies were single dose and used the intravenous (IV) route of administration.”
Skipped studiesopen answer page →
Genotoxicity
Not conducted (literature on AAV); NHP liver integration site analysis: 1.55x10^-3 IS/cell, no clonal expansion
“In terms of genotoxicity, no studies were performed with BMN 270.”
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (product characteristics, tox results, population)
“As regards carcinogenicity: no carcinogenicity studies were performed with BMN 270.”
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (DART); male mouse germline transmission/mating studies showed no F1 transmission or fertility effects
“There were no ROCTAVIAN-related adverse changes on mating rates, maternal behavior, and fertility indices.”
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted; no CNS/respiratory/CV/renal findings in toxicity studies
“Safety pharmacology studies were not performed because BMN 270 components (capsid, vector DNA, corresponding RNA and hFVIII-SQ protein) are not expected to impact major organ systems’ (central nervous system, cardiovascular, renal or respiratory) function.”
First doseopen answer page →
First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
No NOAEL stated; CD1 mice >=6.53x10^13 vg/kg: mortality, cardiac hemorrhage/necrosis from anti-hFVIII antibodies; NHP: APTT prolongation
“ROCTAVIAN-related mortality, adverse clinical observations, and changes in gross pathology were observed at dose levels of 6.53 × 1013 vg/kg and higher, and were associated with fibrosis, hemorrhage, and necrosis in the heart.”
Risksopen answer page →
Immune & cytokine safety
Anti-AAV5 antibodies in all species; anti-hFVIII antibodies cross-reacting with murine FVIII caused bleeding phenotype (species-specific)
“These anti-hFVIII antibodies cross-reacted with the murine endogenous FVIII, leading to a loss of endogenous FVIII activity, a bleeding phenotype, and subsequent visceral lesions (in heart, lungs and epididymis) associated with haemorrhages.”
Biodistribution & persistence
Liver highest, then lung, heart, lymph nodes, kidney, spleen, marrow, testis, brain; mRNA mainly liver; NHP brain <1% of liver
“Following IV administration of 2.13 × 1014 vg/kg ROCTAVIAN, the highest vector DNA concentration was detected in the liver, followed by the lung, heart, lymph nodes, kidney, spleen, bone marrow, testis, and brain through 6 months post-administration.”
Modality-specific risk
Vector integration/insertional mutagenesis (CRL request; BMN307 mouse liver tumors), anti-transgene immunity, germline transmission
“The CRL also included a recommendation for the applicant to provide additional data to address the risks of vector integration and insertional mutagenesis.”