Request an invite

Laviv

azficel-T
cell therapyAutologous fibroblastsAutologous cultured dermal fibroblasts in DMEM for intradermal injectionModerate to severe nasolabial fold wrinkles
Species
no relevant
Longest study
n/a
Genotox
Not conducted Not conducted
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted Not conducted
Repro
Not conducted Not conducted
First dose
Not conducted Not stated publicly

Speciesopen answer page →

Species
No preclinical or toxicology studies conducted with the product
“No preclinical studies were conducted with this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Why that species
No suitable animal model for rhytids; prior human commercial experience cited instead
“The BLA states that due to this previous commercial experience in humans, and due to the lack of a”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Surrogate molecule
No product testing; only published rabbit analog-cell study reviewed (not equivalent to clinical process)
“The preparation of the rabbit analog cells used in this study did not duplicate the procedure that is used for IT preparation”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗

Study lengthopen answer page →

Longest pivotal study
Not stated in public reviews
Pivotal GLP studies
None; no GLP toxicology; reliance on ~1100 treated subjects of prior commercial use
“No preclinical studies were conducted with this product.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 3Source ↗
Route in tox
Intradermal
“administered intradermally”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 2Source ↗

Skipped studiesopen answer page →

Genotoxicity
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)
“were not conducted by the sponsor due to the autologous nature of IT and the previous human experience.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Carcinogenicity
Not conducted (autologous, minimally manipulated); tumorigenicity listed as a gap
“were not conducted by the sponsor due to the autologous nature of IT and the previous human experience.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Reproductive & developmental
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)
“were not conducted by the sponsor due to the autologous nature of IT and the previous human experience.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Safety pharmacology
Not conducted (autologous nature, prior human experience)
“were not conducted by the sponsor due to the autologous nature of IT and the previous human experience.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗

First doseopen answer page →

First-in-human starting dose
Not stated in public reviews
NOAEL / key findings
Not stated in public reviews

Risksopen answer page →

Immune & cytokine safety
Not stated in public reviews
Biodistribution & persistence
Not studied for IT (cell survival/migration listed as a gap); published rabbit study showed autologous fibroblast survival over 5 months
“the autologous cultured fibroblasts could survive in vivo for more than 5 months”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 24Source ↗
Modality-specific risk
Tumorigenicity/abnormal growth and tissue remodeling (scarring, keloids) not evaluated in vivo; reviewer-identified gaps
“The potential for tumorigenicity and/or other abnormal growth following in vivo administration of IT.”
✓ VerifiedFDA pharmacology/toxicology review, p. 25Source ↗

Similar precedents